Marquee
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:59 pm

Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:44 pm

laugi2 wrote:Calvinus

there is french troops who are coming on my territory(With my troops on it) for a battle and the battle does not occure because i guess they retreat but the french managed to change my railway. this should not happen!

how can you change the railway if you do not control the territory?


Not sure what the boardgame rules say, but I would say that an area would have to be free of enemy troops in order for rail conversion to take place. That should not be a difficult test to code into the game if it's not there already.

I would say that rail conversion wouldn't require area control, just the absence of enemy units to accomplish. Otherwise you run into the problem described above by laugi2, which should not happen.

Marquee
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:59 pm

Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:02 pm

The boardgame rules for railroad conversion state as follows:
• To use a captured enemy railroad (for
movement and supply), it is necessary to
“convert” it to the standard railroad of
one’s side (and repair any damage
suffered, real or imagined).
• An infantry unit must pass over the
railroad to be converted, using 1 extra
MP.
Neither cavalry, nor artillery, nor an
HQ may convert it.


I gather two things from these provisions relating to the issues raised in this thread:
(1) To convert a railroad it must be "captured". Funny thing though, the rules do not appear to define "captured". Nor do the rules appear to define any form of hex "control". Such a concept, if it exists, must be a creation of the PC game alone. It's clear, though, that any sort of control that exists must equal "capture", and so the game should require that "area control" exist OR that no enemy units exist in that area in order to convert a railroad. That would reflect "capture".
(2) The PC game requirement that only a moving unit -- as opposed to a unit beginning its turn in an area -- may convert a railroad is a misinterpretation of the rules. "Passing over the railroad" is extremely vague, and certainly gives no temporal quality to the rule. The only seeming requirement is that an infantry unit is located "over" the railroad (in the same hex) and expend 1 MP to convert the rail as a form of movement. So a unit should be able to begin a move in an area with an unconverted rail and immediately expend an MP to convert the railroad in its area. That would constitute "passing over" in the context of the rule.

Perhaps clicking the convert railroad symbol would simply deduct the requisite MP's from a unit's movement if an unconverted railroad exists in the area (if no eligible rail is present, the symbol/button would be nonfunctional).

Return to “WW1 : La Grande Guerre 14-18”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests