GenJackson
Private

Confederacy Blockade/Shipping Box

Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:08 am

So, I've gotten the idea down fairly well about the Shipping and Blockade Boxes, i.e. how they work and what happens if you send ships into them. But, I was wondering two things:

1) Is it possible for the Confederacy to blockade the Union? What happens if you send heavy warships (as the Confederacy) into the Blockade Box instead of the brig Blockade runners.

2) Can the Confederacy ever have Ocean Transport points? I loaded a sample game as the Union and saw the Shipping Box was FULL of transports. What happens if you do this as the Confederacy? Do you get the ocean transport points in addition to the rail and river points? (I read somewhere that you don't)

Thanks as always!

deguerra
Major

Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:46 am

Hi GenJackson,

I'm far from an expert, but I believe the answer to be "You can't" to both your questions. No blockading for the South, and no ocean shipping points.

GenJackson
Private

Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:53 am

That would be an interesting twist if the Confederate Navy ever became so large that it could start blockading northern ports. But, yes, I believe I've read in a few places the Confederate Player isn't able to do that in the game.

Fingolfin
Corporal

Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:12 am

AFAIK, CSA can both transport supply and blockade USA with its ships in Union shipping box.
« Mon Dieu, Sire, je n'ai vraiment rien fait pour cela, c'est quelque chose d'inexplicable que j'ai en moi et qui porte malheur aux gouvernements qui me négligent. » Talleyrand à Louis XVIII, le 1er Mai 1814

Mickey3D

Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:47 pm

Fingolfin wrote:AFAIK, CSA can both transport supply and blockade USA with its ships in Union shipping box.

CSA can't blockade USA (i.e. reduce by a certain % the northern production) but can attack US ships and thus lower income US received with them.

Citizen X
AGEod Veteran

Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:06 pm