User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

How Does AACW Calculate NM for Victories?

Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:34 am

The following results happened in the Pat Cleburne (USA) vs Altaris (CSA) game of the tourney:

McDowell Moves on Henrico, Lee and his Lieutentants Rebuff the Yanks! +2 CSA NM
Jackson Goes for Norfolk! Takes Heavy Losses as Kearny Holds! 0 NM

Here are the results of the two battles:
No one lost any regiments on either side in either battle.
In the first battle above: (4200 USA losses to 1700 CSA losses= 2500 difference) --> 2 NM for the CSA, -2 for the USA
But in the second battle: (4900 CSA losses to 2500 USA losses = 2400 difference) ---> 0 NM The CSA "won" the battle, although the Union forces did not retreat or change stance. The CSA remained in the area.

Altaris subsequently noted that "Regarding NM, the reason the 2nd battle was in the CSA favor was that the CSA technically "won" the battle (though I actually was in a worse situation from "winning" since now I've got a longer retreat and didn't get any MC over the area)."

Gen. Cleburne noted "I would think I would've gotten +1 from my win, but it's not completely unreasonable."

Having thought about it, I suppose the USA didn't get any NM from the second battle because you must "win" it in order to qualify for NM. So, why did the game list Jackson as the "winner" when he failed in every consideration other than self-retreat?
Two Rules: 1. The Tournament Director is always right. 2. When the Tournament Director is wrong, see Rule 1.
Image

User avatar
GraniteStater
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1778
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:16 am
Location: Annapolis, MD - What?

Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:40 am

As a NE Patriot's fan, I would hazard that...

it's the 'tuck rule'.
[color="#AFEEEE"]"Liberty and Union, now and forever, one and inseparable!"[/color]
-Daniel Webster

[color="#FFA07A"]"C'mon, boys, we got the damn Yankees on the run!"[/color]
-General Joseph Wheeler, US Army, serving at Santiago in 1898

RULES
(A) When in doubt, agree with Ace.
(B) Pull my reins up sharply when needed, for I am a spirited thoroughbred and forget to turn at the post sometimes.


Image

Altaris
Posts: 1551
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:47 am

There was no retreat because the USA had no where to retreat to. I had this happen to me in another game too, very frustrating as it makes "wins" more dangerous than "losses" at times. I don't so much have an issue with not being able to force the enemy out if they have nowhere to retreat to, but there should at least be a substantially MC gain by the "victor". However, it seems in these cases that absolutely no MC is gained at all upon the victory if the enemy doesn't retreat from the area.

Return to “AGEod's American Civil War”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests