User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

NM and VP for Taking Cities

Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:41 am

Is there a formula that predicts the NM and VP for the fall of major cities like New Orleans, Mobile, Memphis, Richmond, Nashville, Atlanta and so on?

In a recent game vs the AI I got 3 NM for the Union just for occupying Nashville. (There was a battle of my corps vs a militia, but that resulted in 0 NM.) I was a bit surprised that Nashville was worth three, and thought I might have remembered the starting NM wrong, and so I re-ran the turn and sure enough I got 3 NM the instant my troops occupied the city.

"3" matches the value on the Objectives pull down list, but it has Richmond as "10" and I seem to recall it's worth more than that.

As far as VPs for taking a city, no clue, but I did notice I got them for Nashville.

charlesonmission
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:55 am
Location: USA (somewhere)

Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:48 am

I also thought it was the number in parentheses in the objective screen. I also though Richmond had 40 in my current game as the Union....

Charles


Longshanks wrote:Is there a formula that predicts the NM and VP for the fall of major cities like New Orleans, Mobile, Memphis, Richmond, Nashville, Atlanta and so on?

In a recent game vs the AI I got 3 NM for the Union just for occupying Nashville. (There was a battle of my corps vs a militia, but that resulted in 0 NM.) I was a bit surprised that Nashville was worth three, and thought I might have remembered the starting NM wrong, and so I re-ran the turn and sure enough I got 3 NM the instant my troops occupied the city.

"3" matches the value on the Objectives pull down list, but it has Richmond as "10" and I seem to recall it's worth more than that.

As far as VPs for taking a city, no clue, but I did notice I got them for Nashville.

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:22 am

Is Richmond worth -10 for CSA and +40 for USA? It's not necessarily zero sum.

User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:39 pm

Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne wrote:Is Richmond worth -10 for CSA and +40 for USA? It's not necessarily zero sum.


Most likely. No one has any insight on the VP side of it, I suppose?

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:49 pm

Richmond is also the Capital, so that adds additional VP [can't recall exactly how many]
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:26 pm

In my AI game the Union took Richmond in L Jun 62. The following were the NM before the battle
USA = 100
CSA = 89
The battle was worth +1 to the Union (which during the turn processing, somehow lost 1 NM and went to 99), so after the battle the USA NM was 100.
At the end of the turn, the loss was calculated:
USA NM = 149
CSA NM = 41
This doesn't add up evenly and there were no other battles, but there were build penalities for drafts, financials.
So, the USA got +50 for taking Richmond, which is no surprise, but the CSA took a -50 or more for losing it, which is much greater than the 10 obj. points. I assume the difference is the fact that it was the Capital.
There was also a significant VP boost of around 150 which can't be accounted for elsewhere.

User avatar
Jim-NC
Posts: 2981
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: Near Region 209, North Carolina

Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:31 pm

If Richmond is your capital, you lose a lot of NM (50 sounds about correct). If you move your capital before hand, it is worth less (I think it reverts to 10). The same thing for Washington DC, if the capital, it cost around 50 NM or a gain of 50 NM.

Also, this was discussed a while back, and IIRC, if you lose Richmond, then retake, you still have a net -40 NM (-50 for losing Richmond/the capital, but +10 gaining Richmond back) as the CSA.
Remember - The beatings will continue until morale improves.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Altaris
Posts: 1551
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:20 pm

Yes, capital has a multiplier of x5 for both sides to the base NM level. That's why Richmond is 50 for CSA but only 10 for USA, and DC is 50 for USA but only 10 for CSA. The rest match up (unless you move capital, then the multiplier gets applied to the new capital).

If you move capital from Richmond, it's only worth 10 NM.

Return to “AGEod's American Civil War”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests