Wheat
Private
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 1:49 pm

Who done it?? The Butler did it.

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:32 pm

Ok, this is just craziness and needs some fixing.

Benny the Butler loses a battle on turn Late April 62 at Leesburg. He retreats to Alexandria, and takes over a battle from McDowell, and loses again SAME TURN.

He is wounded, and lo and behold, assigned to recovery in Alexandria VA for FIVE TURNS!!!.

Benny, not one to follow doctors orders, arises from his bed to take charge the next turn in battle. Another loss. Alexandria is besieged but hey, doesn't matter I have better commanders present, wounded Benny is above all in senoirity.

For five turns. He can't be moved, he is "wounded". I think Benny is scamming the system.
Attachments
Wounded Benny Arises.jpg

User avatar
Cardinal Ape
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:59 am

Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:31 pm

Someone gave Butler the order to attack and he obeyed. But maybe you will get lucky and Butler will get captured in the siege.

User avatar
DrPostman
Posts: 3001
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:39 pm
Location: Memphis, TN
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter YouTube

Wed Aug 19, 2015 2:58 am

Even wounded leaders will defend when attacked.
"Ludus non nisi sanguineus"

Image

User avatar
tripax
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:58 pm

Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:05 am

Would he still be in command if put into passive?
Across the South, we have a deep appreciation of history -- we haven’t always had a deep appreciation of each other’s history. - Reverend Clementa Pinckney

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5766
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:57 pm

DrPostman wrote:Even wounded leaders will defend when attacked.

Yes, if he's breathing, he's leading.

tripax wrote:Would he still be in command if put into passive?


Yes, but I believe he would pass his passive status on to the troops he is commanding, not by making them passive too, but by making them suffer from him being passive.

--

If he's in the region, and highest in rank, he's in command.
Image

User avatar
tripax
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:58 pm

Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:02 pm

Captain_Orso wrote:Yes, but I believe he would pass his passive status on to the troops he is commanding, not by making them passive too, but by making them suffer from him being passive.

--

If he's in the region, and highest in rank, he's in command.


That is weird. So even if he is in command of a stack and is passive and in the city and there is another stack on defend outside of the city, the inside the city stack won't join the fight but its commander will?
Across the South, we have a deep appreciation of history -- we haven’t always had a deep appreciation of each other’s history. - Reverend Clementa Pinckney

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5766
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:54 pm

The stack inside the city will only come out if it has the SortieOut-SO and is otherwise eligible (not locked, leader activated).

The highest ranking leader in the region--whether activated or not, whether wounded or not, whether inside the structure-location (city, fort, depot, etc.) or not--is in command in the region, and his bonuses and penalties thru Offensive and defensive ratings and his abilities (positive and negative) will apply to all combat in the region, within the rules.
Image

minipol
General
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:24 pm

Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:48 pm

Benny the butler, gave me a chuckle :)

User avatar
Projekt Pasha
Sergeant
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:30 pm
Location: Exile

Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:42 am

My guess is the Butler did it in New Orleans with the Spoons!
Current Russian player in the third Paradox OT Forums Mass AAR.

Former Ottoman Player in the first Paradox Forums TEAW Mass Multiplayer AAR. Victor of Tripoli, Tyr, and Xanthi. Defender of the Holy Cities of Jerusalem, Mecca, and Medinah. Conqueror of Kuwait and Kitchener. Bane of the British and Sword of the House of Osman.

Militant confederate in my spare time. :neener:

Wheat
Private
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 1:49 pm

Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:25 pm

Projekt Pasha wrote:My guess is the Butler did it in New Orleans with the Spoons!


Ha! I say Pasha gets it correct with this one.

But, still, in a historical sense, I am still doubtful an army commander, having lost his entire command, rides 20 miles, and seizes the units of ANOTHER ARMY COMMANDER, despite his better senoirity, all in the same 15 days.

This will happen it seems, anytime a commander retreats from battle into an adjacent area, and if senior, seizes command and fights in any battles that occur in said adjacent area. This along with other things, creates a bit more randomness in outcomes that some of us old time wargamers are happy with.

Return to “Civil War II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 5 guests