Cetacea
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:22 am

Ghost enemy?

Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:10 am

The following 'problem' (?) occurred in my game, playing the Prussian side. In late April 1757, Saxon Chemnitz, by now a Prussian depot, was invaded by the Bohemische Armee of Charles of Lorraine. It probably was conquered, although this event was never mentioned in the log. Neither did I receive any battle report. In early May, Frederick with the Elbe Armee enthusiastically tried to strike the inferior Austrian force, by then established in the region. But again, I did not receive any report of a battle. For the late May turn I again ordered Frederick to attack Lorraine, but again, nothing seemed to happen. No reports, no battle, no switch of area control (remained Saxon). The red coloured areas east and west of Chemnitz indicate that Frederick's army is unable to move there, but in the planning of the next turn I am not forbidden to move Frederick into one of these areas.

What is going on? it appears that the Austraians are in Chemnitz, hold the city, but appear to be invisibble to Frederick.

A bug?
Attachments
Situation Late May 1757.jpg

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:06 pm

As long as there is any other 'friendly' unit or group in the same region with an Army group, the Army cannot initiate combat. Put the separate unit into Fred's group and he will attack

This is WAD for any Army
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Cetacea
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:22 am

Sat Apr 03, 2010 2:22 pm

Thanks. That was helpfull. Merging the separate fort battery with Fred's army and sending the lone Seydlitz brigade on a cavalry detour resulted in a major battle that was gloriously won by the Prussians.

Why was it decided to require an army to absorbe all forces in the region (I guess: not separate subordinate corps?) before being allowed tot initiate combat?

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sat Apr 03, 2010 4:04 pm

Cetacea wrote:Thanks. That was helpfull. Merging the separate fort battery with Fred's army and sending the lone Seydlitz brigade on a cavalry detour resulted in a major battle that was gloriously won by the Prussians.

Why was it decided to require an army to absorbe all forces in the region (I guess: not separate subordinate corps?) before being allowed tot initiate combat?


The design intent is that an Army stack should represent the 'reserve' for the army. The Army will then 'march to the guns' [as will associated Corps] once combat is initiated.

And to clarify, if an Army is in a region with a Corps, the Corps must initiate combat: same rule.
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Return to “Rise of Prussia”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests