Justus2
Conscript

Largest Army mission

Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:14 pm

I am just starting out on this game (a few 'trial runs' of a few months in so far), and have a question on the missions that I receive in the first couple of turns (playing as Prussia). The first mission is to have the Largest Army in Western Europe. I searched and found several threads that talk about the reporting aspects being bugged, but I have a couple questions on what actually counts toward mission success:

1. How does it count the 'largest army'? It mentions a minimum of 200 regiments, are only Infantry/Cavalry regiments counted, or does every element (Artillery, engineers, etc) count. Does all infantry count (ie garrison/militia as well)?

2. It specifically excludes Russia, but is the UK included? Does it only count regiments in Europe, or do their overseas elements count as well?

(I opened each power to get an idea of what they start with, UK starts with nearly 300 infantry/cavalry, but an additional 165 Indian regiments, how could Prussia ever overtake them? France also starts with over 300, and an additional 300 artillery, and yet it seems they get the mission for the 2nd largest army? Austria starts with 114, plus 120 Hungarian and 6 Polish, for 240 regiments of Inf/Cav). Prussia starts with 154 Inf/Cav, and 111 Art (counting by the elements from tooltips on the F3 replacements screen).

The other misison (Chemical/Dyes) seems more straight-forward, although again UK has a huge lead, 46, to Prussia's 15 (EDIT: actually 55 to 31, I wasn't counting the ones from craftsmen, I assume they are included), but since a couple dye resources appear at the same turn, it seems it is at least within reach.

Appreciate any clarifications anyone can offer.

loki100
AGEod Guard of Honor

Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:20 pm