Pickhammer
Conscript

Woes of the French

Mon May 27, 2013 2:43 am

Hi, I just started playing the Grand Campaign (1850) a couple weeks ago after doing the American Civil War and Piedmont vs Austria scenarios in full. I'm playing France and have made it to Early Sept 1858, Suez construction has just started last turn (I tech "rushed" it) and my int. relations are where I want them (cozy with Sardinia Piedmont and Belgium, cordial with Britain/US.) I thought for a number of years that my economy was doing well, contentment was at 60%, my colonies were growing (I do see a fight for Morocco brewing in the next 5 years though) and then in late 1855 a Panic hit, I wasn't worried, my exports were strong (3-4 times as much revenue as my imports) inflation never hit more than 5%. Naturally the high contentment and low militancy went in the wrong directions and despite every requested measure being passed immediately they kept dropping and climbing respectively. :blink: The Panic ended a few months later as usual and my inflation dropped back to nil but the social trouble stayed high and got worse. By late 56 I had Alsace and Champagne in full revolt and by early 57 a few other NW provinces joined. My armies put it down without trouble but production has stalled since then and nothing is improving. I tried to reduce exports to flood the internal market with more goods but after 8 months that has produced nothing, contentment is at 20% and more areas are looking like they will join the fallen including the ones with all my vineyards and luxury goods factories. Any help would be appreciated, thanks

loki100
AGEod Guard of Honor

Mon May 27, 2013 7:00 am

one problem is that France in the early game (say up to 1872) is very prone to scripted and non-scripted rises in militancy, so its something you need to manage rather than avoid.

Some things to think about;