For instance, in my latest game I'm playing 4-man as Russia and I've seen some strange events being played especially by the CP. The latest one was Germany playing a tank bonus event that says it benefits Britain and France with +1 to research and a chance for +1 rating on their tanks.

At first I thought perhaps I was reading the message wrong but that one seemed unambiguous enough to be worried.
Can you take a look at this?
Thanks.

Edit: I'm also having a fit trying to figure out when I can play my event cards that I've been holding for 2 turns as the checkbox always says "conditions have not been met" no matter what I select. I think I'm ignorant of a rule somewhere on using them. An example right now - I have the card that makes either Russia, Turkey, or A-H suffer from troop desertion and I also have the encirclement card. Neither has let me play them in any phase with any country selected. When and how can I use these?