User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25423
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

WIA Official patch 1.08 released!

Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:18 pm

Dear Players,

After a too long waiting, here is at last the link to official patch 1.08.

Should major problems remain, this patch will be reissued with same version number and link.




[font="]BOA2 : War in America patch 1.08 [/font]

[font="]March 12, 2011[/font]
[font="]==============================================================================[/font]

[font="]Major Changes:[/font]
[font="]* You no longer assault structures if you are still moving, you only assault them if you have stopped moving (the region of the structure is your destination or you don't move at all) UNLESS your ROE is also 'all out attack'. Both the assault posture and ROE tooltips have been updated to explain that to the player.[/font]
[font="]This is to prevent serious problems for the AI... This has been observed in several of the AGE games with unexpected assaults from the AI... She wants to assault region X, but in the end it happens she will before assault region Y and more often than not: ... bloodbath...[/font]
[font="]* AutoGarrison is now using Advanced version (see AGE Wiki: http://www.ageod.net/agewiki/The_Auto-garrison_feature ).[/font]

[font="]Additions/Fixes[/font]
[font="]* Corrected txt desccription for "Master Logistician" to state he must command the stack to be effective.[/font]
[font="]* Added Siege parameter sieSurrenderModEndangered.[/font]
[font="]* Added Leader Biographical notes to 18th Century leaders. (Thank you, Stéphane Parrin)= Currently only in French language installation. Translations in process.[/font]
[font="]* Minor correction of Generic structure destruction text[/font]
[font="]* Added Units and Models for King William's War[/font]

[font="]Graphics[/font]
[font="]* Changed the flags appearing in Battle Report for ING, INF and COL factions[/font]
[font="]* MiniMap color for INDian Faction changed to be more visible.[/font]
[font="]* Corrected positions of text in "Newspaper" message display.[/font]
[font="]* Adjusted positioning of text for 'Massive Reinforcement Events' (as in July 1776)[/font]

[font="]Engine[/font]
[font="]* Added new Faction Select front end[/font]
[font="]* Added scripting enhamcement: Turns Fixed when creating a new group can also be expressed as "Unfix Date" with format YYYY/MM/DD (text)[/font]
[font="]* Siege logic updated as in RoP 1.02[/font]
[font="]* Updated the Factions parameters to latest data set[/font]
[font="]* Added Retreat parameters (as in RoP) to Control&Retreat settings[/font]
[font="]* Merged all GamePlay settings into one single GameLogic.opt settings file to make finding a given rule easier[/font]
[font="]{replacing files: Bombard&Blockade&Siege.opt, Cohesion&Attrition.opt, Combats.opt, Control&Retreat.opt, EngagementPts.opt, Reserve.opt, ROE.opt}[/font]
[font="] {modifying file: GameRules.opt}[/font]
[font="]* Improvement in the Retreat after combat formula to take into account OMBs with large number of links.[/font]
[font="]* Fixed the bug of structures not completed at setup. It affected all setups generated between October 1st (roughly) and now, for all games.[/font]
[font="]* Deciding who is the winner or loser of a particular battle is now more accurate and will use 'Battle Points' granted for particular situations or damages done to opponent.[/font]
[font="]* A turn without an ORD (to save the map focus) would be loaded using a map focus of 0/0, or the last map focus used. Fixed.[/font]
[font="]* The small ² key used to bring console should be valid on all keyboards now (hopefully, can't test)[/font]
[font="]* Units in structures in regions that don't have any cityscape structures are now expelled each turn.[/font]
[font="]* Home Area bug fixed[/font]
[font="]* Fixed Depot build by Transport Ships bug (appeared in RC9)[/font]
[font="]*there is a more detailed tooltip on the entrench level icon [/font]
[font="]*abilities tooltip have their appliance level added by code.[/font]
[font="]*Unit detail panel now uses new code, same as RUS[/font]


[font="]AI[/font]
[font="]* Added "fitness" parameters to settings[/font]
[font="]* the AI now considers the % of light elements (raiders, cavalry) when checking for assaults against a structure, and not just the ratio of power between the defenders and the assaulting force.[/font]

[font="]Modding[/font]
[font="]* Creation of Models.cached enabled, to speed up game load[/font]
[font="]* Now creating Units.cached, to speed up game load[/font]

[font="]Map[/font]
[font="]* Increased travel time by ships to Hudson Bay (Beware: it will be a very long trip in harsh weather!)[/font]

[font="]1755 Campaign, 1756 Moncalm, 1759 Annus Mirablis and equivalent COL variants (Also affects Roi Louis variants)[/font]
[font="]* Added notification message for GBR Crown Point bateaux build event in 1758-59[/font]
[font="]* Corrected model reference for all "Battoemen build Bateaux" events[/font]
[font="]* Improved "Native Alliance" Option for both sides. Option now restricted to search and unlock only fixed units.[/font]
[font="]* Corrected GBR event where Bateaux could arrive in land region (September 1759). [/font]
[font="]* Corrected 56 Moncalm event where Angoumois reinforcements attempt to arrive in blocked regions (New Orleans, French West Indies)[/font]

[font="]1755 Campaign COL variant[/font]
[font="]* Activated Advanced AutoGarrison for FRA and GBR in Cities, Settlements and Stockades[/font]
[font="]* Corrected "destruction of cities" bug[/font]
[font="]* Many "frontier" Cities and Forts converted to Stockades and Settlements[/font]
[font="]* Harbor added at Oriskany (head of navigable waters)[/font]
[font="]* Some small cities on "frontier" eliminated if there is also a Fort or Stockade co-located.[/font]
[font="]* Improved "Native Alliance" Option for both sides. Option now restricted to search and unlock only fixed units.[/font]

[font="]1775/1776 Campaigns[/font]
[font="]* Corrected messages to GBR when USA options for Extended Milita Service are taken (1775/76 Campaigns)[/font]
[font="]* Corrected duplicate "Sphynx" GBR ship unit (1775/76 Campaigns)[/font]
[font="]* Improved "Native Alliance" Option for GBR. Option now restricted to search and unlock only fixed units.[/font]

[font="]1791 Fallen Timbers[/font]
[font="]* Activated Advanced AutoGarrison for USA in Settlements and Stockades[/font]

[font="]1812 Campaign[/font]
[font="]* Fixed date-syntax error in "Exile" flavor event[/font]
[font="]* Fixed appearance of Jackson's Army at New Oleans (wasn't happening if the GBR was AI controlled)[/font]
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Mirandasucre
Lieutenant
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:15 pm

Merci

Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:07 pm

Juste pour savoir ,c'est le beta 1.08 rc 11 officialisé ou y a-til des éléments nouveaux par rapport au dernier beta ?

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25423
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:15 am

Mostly rc11 plus 2 bug fix in the script engine.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Anazagar
Lieutenant
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:32 pm

are you sure you have properly patched the game up?? I ask because your version seems to be lacking on the screenshots stuff like evade combat, last turn replay and the second row of stance buttons.

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6121
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:57 pm

Anazagar wrote:are you sure you have properly patched the game up?? I ask because your version seems to be lacking on the screenshots stuff like evade combat, last turn replay and the second row of stance buttons.


I think those screen shots might be from BOA, not BOA2-WIA> ;)

Anazagar
Lieutenant
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:33 pm

Ebbingford wrote:I think those screen shots might be from BOA, not BOA2-WIA> ;)

Quite possible - I didn't play the first one so I wouldn't know.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25423
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:53 am

Indeed, and although I appreciate Stwa love for our games, I'll kindly ask him to not post BOA1 screenshots in the WIA patch thread.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Lafrite
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:00 pm
Contact: Website

Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:30 pm

Petit bug de traduction dans la VF de l'event Fort Edward

Image

User avatar
Bernadotte
Lieutenant
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: south of munich (germany)

Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:34 am

Thank you very much for the new Patch.
I really appreciate !

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:15 pm

Ahh, I haven't fired this up in awile. Will check out the new patch.

Anazagar
Lieutenant
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:37 pm

From my first game with the new patch as England in the 75 campaign it seems that if the loyalists capture strategic ports quickly (like taking Philadelphia in 75) rebel forces continue spawning in them (turning into cannon fodder quite quickly). Also sometimes cannons and supply wagons from the rebel ep options spawn in tory controlled ports.

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:17 pm

Anazagar wrote:From my first game with the new patch as England in the 75 campaign it seems that if the loyalists capture strategic ports quickly (like taking Philadelphia in 75) rebel forces continue spawning in them (turning into cannon fodder quite quickly). Also sometimes cannons and supply wagons from the rebel ep options spawn in tory controlled ports.


I saw this in New York as the Yankees, but it was because I didn't control it. I was about ready to post agreeing with you but I saw this in the manual.
[INDENT]In order to gain credit for a captured Objective or Strategic city, a player must garrison the
location with a regular unit (i.e. no Irregulars, Militias) if the region has a Loyalty Rating less than 51%[/INDENT].

I kept wondering why it said I didn't control objectives that I thought I did. Now I know to keep a regular unit in objectives from now on. :bonk: But if that's the problem, maybe the logic could be changed to only place units in friendly controlled ports.

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:34 pm

I've also encountered a more serious issue. During turn resolution Cornwallis took Charleston. While I was looking at the results screen, I heard another battle resolution sound and the screen blinked and switched to a battle in Wilmington. However, the resolution screen kept the same results from the Charleston battle. Even when I go back and check the two seperate battles in Charleston and Wilmington in the report, the screens are exactly the same. This definitely smells like a bug. I'll post the save. Check the results on messages 21and 40 on the report.

[ATTACH]14743[/ATTACH]

Actually, they aren't exactly the same. The British tool tip boxes on the bottom are somewhat different for the 2 battles, but the American ones are the same, even though the forces involved were much different for each battle. In short, I can't tell what happened in the Wilmington battle because it got mostly overwritten with the Charleston data.
Attachments
1775 108.rar
(234.67 KiB) Downloaded 201 times

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:44 pm

Ok, I just backed up a turn and ran it again. 1-2 seconds after the Charleston result popped up it skipped to the next battle which was in Quebec this time. I see the Charleston info where the Quebec battle should be. You all can run this turn and see if it happens to you. There's a possiblity that there could be zero battles after Charleston, so you may have to run it more than once.

[ATTACH]14744[/ATTACH]
Attachments
Backup1.rar
(235.41 KiB) Downloaded 204 times

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:42 pm

Anazagar wrote:From my first game with the new patch as England in the 75 campaign it seems that if the loyalists capture strategic ports quickly (like taking Philadelphia in 75) rebel forces continue spawning in them (turning into cannon fodder quite quickly). Also sometimes cannons and supply wagons from the rebel ep options spawn in tory controlled ports.


Okay nevermind. The Brits took Philly a few turns ago and my Hortellez and Cie supplies are still showing up there.

User avatar
Stwa
Colonel
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:01 am

Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:58 pm

Back in BOA1 days, I spent most of the weekends in June of one year (several years ago), completely rewriting the 1776 Event script, for this very reason.

That being said, it is a data intensive game, and I can always find "little" problems with my own scripts and data.

Bison36
Conscript
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:11 pm

Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:01 pm

I'm getting a font error after I installed the new patch. I saw a similar issue in the tech support and tried the replace

Cheboygan
Cheboyga.ttf

With

Verdana

This only made the font issue worse. I've only seen this on this particular screen.


Image

User avatar
Stwa
Colonel
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:01 am

Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:05 pm

Ya, and using those big flags, how is someone going to set up a scenario with three factions.

Wont that mess with the selection thing.

I prefer the normal itty bitty flags.

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4378
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:12 pm

I also get a similar error with the new patch - but I see no text at all.

Image

Cheers, Chris
Attachments
Clipboard01.jpg

AEWHistory
Conscript
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:29 am

Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:10 am

In general I have to second the feelings that BoA/WiA has reached a very elegant state. However, I've encountered a few issues that could be addressed. I've had numerous CtD even though I've read that the program should be quite steady. I can provide a save if anyone is interested but since none of my previous messages have been answered I've doubted there was much point.

In regard to gameplay, I am curious to hear what others think about how the AI copes with cohesion and supply in the latest versions. I point this out because in the first version of the game it was my impression-perhaps wrong-that the AI did a very respectable job handling supply. With the addition of the cohesion rule it seems as though the AI is really struggling. I think the cohesion rule/concept is great, but perhaps it is too stringent? I think it encourages the computer to sit on it's duff and do nothing, especially in areas that are poorly supplied...but that is just an impression after a few weeks of gaming.

Aaron

User avatar
Paul Roberts
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: Between the Schuylkill and the Wissahickon

Thu May 05, 2011 10:12 pm

Possible misplaced unit?

I'm playing as British in the 1755 Campaign (with Colonial Faction), and I've just received my first big wave of unit recruitments across the colonies. The 1st NY Militia (four NY militia elements) spawned in Chautauqua, NY, but this region is deep in French territory.

I can interpret it as Anglophile settlers organizing against the French, but it seems a little odd. I'm reporting it in case it is not WAD.

Save file for the turn of appearance is attached.
Attachments
WIA 1st NY Militia.rar
(178.98 KiB) Downloaded 296 times

User avatar
Narwhal
Posts: 792
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:13 pm
Location: Paris

Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:34 pm

I have the impression that since this patch, there is no more ammo comsumption, just like in RoP... It is not TOO bad for RoP, but ammo could be very scarce in BoA2. Anyone to confirm ?

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6121
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:24 pm

The besieged icon is missing, I haven't seen it at all in a pbem game we have just started.

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2663
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:04 am

Narwhal wrote:I have the impression that since this patch, there is no more ammo comsumption, just like in RoP... It is not TOO bad for RoP, but ammo could be very scarce in BoA2. Anyone to confirm ?


Ammo consumption was an interesting question. I knew ships used ammo in all scenarios. After checking all saved games, I could not find an instance of ammo consumption. Consequently, I started the 1778 Campaign "Forward from Valley Forge" because this scenario has two Colonial units in the west without easy access to supply. I sent these units off to try and answer the question.

Clark went to Detroit to check supply and test the siege icon question.

The 2nd Pennsylvania Militia went to Ashtabula, taking the town and expelling the British fleet, which meant the area provided no supply that turn. The next turn, an Indian force attacked the 2nd Penn Militia. After turn resolution, each component of this force had only 2 of 4 ammo remaining. I do have a screen save, but have not yet created an off-site image file to import the file.

My conclusion, ammo is consumed when ready access to a supply source is not available. Demonstrating this conclusion was difficult, because WiA has very open supply rules.
I am now attempting to create the same situation in ROP. My ROP experience is forces run out of supply long before they exhaust ammo.

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2663
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:06 am

Ebbingford wrote:The besieged icon is missing, I haven't seen it at all in a pbem game we have just started.


The besieged icon appears in non-pbem games. I have two screen saves I will attempt to post.

User avatar
Narwhal
Posts: 792
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:13 pm
Location: Paris

Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:56 am

Durk wrote:Ammo consumption was an interesting question. I knew ships used ammo in all scenarios. After checking all saved games, I could not find an instance of ammo consumption. Consequently, I started the 1778 Campaign "Forward from Valley Forge" because this scenario has two Colonial units in the west without easy access to supply. I sent these units off to try and answer the question.

Clark went to Detroit to check supply and test the siege icon question.

The 2nd Pennsylvania Militia went to Ashtabula, taking the town and expelling the British fleet, which meant the area provided no supply that turn. The next turn, an Indian force attacked the 2nd Penn Militia. After turn resolution, each component of this force had only 2 of 4 ammo remaining. I do have a screen save, but have not yet created an off-site image file to import the file.

Strange. Don't you think ammos are easier to "come by" now ? It used to be sometimes a real problem for me in WiA. Not any more. For instance, I have an Indian fighting force in the middle of nowhere, who fought already several battles without supply, and it is is still at 100% supply. Maybe the rule for "ammo" only being produced in some centers was lifted ?

I am now attempting to create the same situation in ROP. My ROP experience is forces run out of supply long before they exhaust ammo.


In RoP I am pretty sure it is not working. I had an army fighting 15 battles in one turn (in Russia), and still 100% ammo.

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2663
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:18 am

Narwhal wrote:Strange. Don't you think ammos are easier to "come by" now ? It used to be sometimes a real problem for me in WiA. Not any more. For instance, I have an Indian fighting force in the middle of nowhere, who fought already several battles without supply, and it is is still at 100% supply. Maybe the rule for "ammo" only being produced in some centers was lifted ?


In WiA I am pretty sure ammo is produced anywhere supply is produced. For irregular forces, supply and ammo consumption seem less. For naval units the most.
What scenario are you playing with the irrepressible Indian forces? I would enjoy seeing if I can find a cause.

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6121
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:12 am

Is anybody else noticing that some units keep on gaining experience even if they are not engaged in any fighting?
I am sure this didn't happen before.

User avatar
Xaloc
General of the Army
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Majorca

Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:10 am

Ebbingford wrote:Is anybody else noticing that some units keep on gaining experience even if they are not engaged in any fighting?
I am sure this didn't happen before.


yes, I can confirm that. Some units gain experience without combat or being with a drill master.

Another thing I've noticed is that Hortelez units appear in well occuppied and defended cities (playing as British, but playing as American too). I think this was corrected, but now happens again.

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2663
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:58 am

I am not sure if there is a crossover in what experience means and what training means. All units train given time, with or without a leader with training ability.
I have not seen units gain experience without battle. I would be willing to test this in an independent situation.

The new version has several unit placement issues. Hortelez is one, British supply reinforcement is another. American cannon reinforcement one more. In each of these instances, reinforcements may arrive in enemy occupied areas.
My fix, allow my opponent to take these units to an area they control. This is not a good fix. They should only show in friendly areas.

Return to “BoA2: Wars in America”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest