User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4438
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Indian Chiefs

Sun May 21, 2006 4:20 pm

Are Indian chiefs like Brandt allowed to control any troops other than Indian?
If so is there a penalty?

If not I assume 2 Indians stacked with 2 regular units and 2 one star leaders - one with the ability to command only indians and the other to command any type - the 2 indian units would automatically fall under the command of the leader that is only able to command Indians?

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25673
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon May 22, 2006 12:51 pm

Brandt (or Brant ... ) can only commands indiens, at 0 CP (command point) cost each. This just means that he can pile as many indians he wants with him without penalty. Non-indians units will cost him 4 CP though, so its feasible, in theory, to add a regular or a militia, but the whole stack will suffers from CP penalties. In practice, its a bad idea.

Same things apply with English officers who wants to command indians, if they don't have the special ability English/indian command, they will pay a 2 CP cost for indians, even if indians normally don't cost CP.

The rule is in fact generic:

a) you have the right to command the unit, you pay the normal CP cost for it (1 CP or 0...)
b) you don't have the right, you pay either x4 the cost, or 2 CP, which ever is higher.

As for the last question, this is handled by the seniority rule ("preseance"). Brandt is the last in the seniority ranking, so any British officer will pass before him, even if the said officer is a moron and Brant a tactical genius...
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4438
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Mon May 22, 2006 5:41 pm

Many thanks Pocus!

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4438
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Tue May 23, 2006 6:45 am

I tried an experiment last night to make sure I understand this - I still don't :)

I had 1 star Butler who does not have Indian leadership skills (this seems a little surprising in itself) command 2 militia and 2 Indian units. (There were also supply wagons - but I think these are 0 CP to command) Each unit had 2 elements.

I had a battle and the battle report showed 8 elements uncommanded. I would have though this should be 4 - only the Indians?

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25673
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Tue May 23, 2006 8:22 am

the 8 elements are not uncommanded, they are undercommanded :)

Butler is not commanding perfectly the militias, while commanding as he can the indians... He is commanding in a poor way all his army, because he spent far too much time trying to use the indians warriors in a way they don't understand/agree on.

In game term:

Butler is a level 1 general, so provides 2 CP.

The 2 militia cost 1 CP each, each indian, as they are commanded by a non indian-able leader, cost 2 CP. The 2 supply wagons also cost 1 CP.

Total 8... You have 2, so you have the maximum penalty, -50% command ability to ALL the units in the stack.

So you move at half speed, Butler provide half his bonuses, and each of your unit has 50% chance of firing last and loosing one Rate of Fire.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4438
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Tue May 23, 2006 9:04 am

Aha - all is now clear, thanks again Pocus

Return to “Birth of America”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests