When I move into a region, do I want to enter the structure or not? (If there is no need to do so for recreation and shelter, etc., that is.)
I was under the impression that I would want to occupy the structure to gain defensive benefits and to have a firm hold of the region. But then if my opponent enters the same region, I end up besieged and with no influence on the landscape.
Conversely, if I leave the structure alone, and my opponent moves in and occupies it - now he is besieged, of course, but he is also firmly entrenched in my region.
Is having control of a region (for victory purposes) synonymous with control of the structure or not? Or can I hold the region without holding the structure?
My apologies for asking questions to which the answer must seem obvious to more experienced players. I also read the rules (several times) but I am really not sure I have understood these things correctly.
