Page 1 of 1
Northern Papers Push event and 10 units
Posted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:50 pm
by DDLAfan
Hi,
I moved McDowell and three full-capacity divisions (25,000 men) to Williamsburg about four turn ago in order to fulfill the threaten richmond event, or lose 10 NM.
It's early July 1862 and I just lost -10 NM, with another -10 NM coming up by the end of October 1862 if I don't have 10 units within 2 spaces of Richmond.
I'm sorta confused on a what a "unit" is. The rules aren't very clear on this, but am I short 7 units because each division under McDowell's command counts as only 1 unit? Should I have broken one of the divisions down into its constituent parts to create more "units"? Do I need to move 7 more divisions to Williamsburg to fulfill the 10 unit requirement.
If someone can let me know on this it would be greatly appreciated. My NM has been plummeting already and I'm getting pretty close to defeat...
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:33 am
by Jim-NC
This has been mentioned before. Look at this thread:
http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?t=15684&highlight=threaten+richmond
It doesn't appear to have been answered. My guess is that each division counts as a unit, and you need to break one of them down into component parts to not lose the NM.
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:51 pm
by DDLAfan
Thanks Jim. I broke down one of McDowell's divisions, so now my Unit Status Bar shows "10 units" are at Williamsburg. I will post on here when it hits the October 62 deadline on what happend.
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:26 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:10 am
by Taillebois
Blimey, any officer without a background in programming hasn't a chance at Gettysburg or Helmand these days.
A unit by any other name
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:42 am
by gchristie
Ahah! Mystery solved. Thanks Gray. Sorry I never did post the saved game files in December. It slipped my mind and this thread reminded me. But no need that this point.
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:39 pm
by DDLAfan
Well, October 62 passed and I didn't get dinged -10 NM, so I guess breaking down a division into it's parts worked.
To confirm, the Unit Panel needs to read at least "10 units" in the upper left (where the number of Men and Cannons in the force are referenced).
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:06 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:05 pm
by enf91
Maybe not. If a division is 18 elements, that's 6 divisions. Or 5 divisions and some independent units.
Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:07 am
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:16 pm
by Heldenkaiser
"the Unit Panel needs to read at least "10 units" in the upper left"
If that's the case, then the event could be satisfied by sending a single line unit with 9 leaders ... yes, or 10 leaders if you like, but I'd provide some sort of escort.

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:35 pm
by enf91
I think they mean combat units.
Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:58 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:48 pm
by Heldenkaiser
Well. From 10 leaders with zero power to 10 divisions with a combined power of over 5,000, that's quite a range for this event. Maybe a certain number of combat elements would make a tad more sense. Even considering the difficulties of finding out how many you have.

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:54 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:59 pm
by Heldenkaiser
Gray_Lensman wrote:Since the game is "finalized", you are more than welcome to MOD it.
Thought there'd be an AACW2?
Otherwise just read "Maybe a certain number of combat elements would
have made a tad more sense."

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:13 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:50 am
by Chaplain Lovejoy
Gray_Lensman wrote: lost as a result of a MalWare attack
Any preventive advice in this regard?
OT answer:
Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:27 am
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:24 pm
by Chaplain Lovejoy
Glad to have the advice, but . . . gulp!
Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:45 pm
by Heldenkaiser
In any case it doesn't seem to work. I had ten units sitting for three months in Williamsburg, VA, in September and October 1862 and still took the second NM hit.

Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:51 pm
by Heldenkaiser
In fact I'd be glad for any help in understanding what went wrong. I went to length to avoid the second NM hit. I understand the event is satisfied by placing ten units (any type) in any region no more than two regions from Richmond (i.e. one region in between is valid, i.e. Williamsburg is OK) for two consecutive months prior to 10/31/1862. Correct?
Can the 10 units be in two different forces in the same region?

Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:40 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:28 pm
by Heldenkaiser
Thank you, Gray. So which is the latest turn on which the 10 units must arrive in one of the specified regions?
If they arrive late September 1862, thus being in the region in that turn and the next, early October 1862, is it enough?
Or do they have to already have been there for two turns at the beginning of the early October 1862 turn?
And is it two full turns (30 days), or simply any period of time within two consecutive turns?
If the former (30 days), and the check is at the beginning of the early October 1862 turn, the troops would have to be in place in the region at the start of the early September 1862 turn, therefore arrive in the last August 1862 turn. That's pretty early!
You could help my understanding of this event enormously by a clarification on these two issues. Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:23 pm
by Gray_Lensman
deleted
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:12 pm
by Heldenkaiser
Gray_Lensman wrote:Heldenkaiser:All the info about the event design itself (and more) is posted above. Try loading up the game yourself and set up an experiment to find out all the additional finer points you desire for clarification or to further your understanding.
Ah, I am really not good with figuring out this stuff myself by testing. I thought since you had the ready answer to the conditions of the event, you could also tell me how they are actually checked. (Basically, how much "two turns" are--two full turns or just parts of two turns--, and when the check occurs, i.e. at the start or at the end of a turn.)
But, no problem. You have been helpful enough often enough.
