John Sedgwick
Colonel

CSA Grand Strategy - tips?

Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:31 pm

First, let me introduce myself. I'm new to AGEOD's games. I've been playing wargames for many years, but it's been a long time since I've sunk my teeth into a game as complex as AACW, so I'm a bit rusty. I'm cutting my teeth against the AI, but eventually I'd like to play human opponents. I'm starting my first campaign as the CSA, (and I doubt if I'll ever play as the Union unless it's to better understand my enemy), because I like to play the historical underdog. So with all that in mind, I'd like to present my overall plan for the war in the hopes that some of you might be able to offer some advice or critiques.

Rather than disperse my forces trying to defend every inch of Confederate soil, my general strategy will be to withdraw to more defensible terrain and/or narrower frontlines whenever convenient, focusing on in-depth defense of a few key areas, in the hopes of luring my opponent far from his lines of supply and communication and forcing him into decisive battle on ground of my choosing. This may not be good for morale, but I'm guessing it will give me a better chance of winning in the long run.

In the early war, I will wait for the Union to invade Kentucky, then pump as many units out of KY and MO before they're overrun. I plan on waging an aggressive campaign in the west up to the Missourri river as far as St Louis, then blowing the depots and tearing up the rails in a scorched earth withdrawal to a defensive line in AR and TN. I plan on building a lot of gunboats, coastal artillery, and ironclads to control the Mississippi. Also, fair number of blockade runners. No commerce raiders (don't see much point).