Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Enemy Movement

Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:16 am

Hello,

I have a problem that might already have been addressed, though I could not find anything via the search function. So here we go:

I am playing the grand campaign 1861 as the CSA. The problem is, I do not see the movement of my units, but that of the Union side. Not in one turn, but all turns, which makes turn processing very slow and I do not want to see enemy troop movement with fog of war enabled.

User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

Sun Jul 03, 2011 3:00 am

Welcome to the forums!

Do you mean during the Replay? or do you mean during the End of Turn resolution phase?

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Sun Jul 03, 2011 9:12 am

Thank you Longshanks!

During the turn resolution phase. It is very annoying, to say the least.
When I played the Union campaign, I did not have this problem and everything went fine (besides some grave AI mistakes).

Edit: Forgot to mention that I am playing with 1.16 RC4a

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:04 pm

No idea how this could be solved, anyone? This is really annoying. I started a second game and it is still there, though as far as I can remember it wasn't the case in during the first 2 or 3 turns.

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:47 pm

Hi,

What do you mean exactly, Quirk? :confused:
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]

[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:28 pm

Well, during the turn resolution phase, I do not see the movement of my units, but those of the Union. This takes much longer and is of course kinda weird when fog of war is enabled.

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:11 pm

You can see the movement of your units later, using the previous turn replay button (placed in the upper right corner).
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]



[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
Mickey3D
Posts: 1569
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:09 pm
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Are you sure that you have not inadvertently opened the North game file before running the resolution ?

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:35 pm

Maybe I should elaborate a bit more.
The first game I played I chose the Union and finished it. Then, playing as the CSA, whenever I end my turn, the turn resolution shows close to every single Union movement on the map. Even those that I should not see due to the fog of war. This happens every turn and happened in both games I played with the Confederates. I can even see railroad movements in the far north.

User avatar
Longshanks
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 842
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:48 pm
Location: Fairfax Virginia

Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:15 pm

During your turn, as you plot your moves, attacks, etc, do units appear correctly?

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Jul 05, 2011 9:50 am

Everything seems to be fine, yes. Only problem is the turn resolution phase.

User avatar
Jim-NC
Posts: 2981
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: Near Region 209, North Carolina

Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:38 pm

Can you post a save game? We would need your host file, your orders, and the opponents orders (we shouldn't need the replay files). You will have to compress it. And we would need the turn before. Make sure to post a turn where you see everything.
Remember - The beatings will continue until morale improves.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:07 pm

Yes, here is my save game. Two turns are included where you should be able to see everything.
Attachments
1861 April Campaign0.zip
(1.89 MiB) Downloaded 155 times

User avatar
Jim-NC
Posts: 2981
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:21 pm
Location: Near Region 209, North Carolina

Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:44 am

It appears that you may have turned off the fog of war. Under the options screen, there is a button for "use fog of war". Is this checked? When I first loaded your games, I noticed that I could see all union units. Then I checked it, and parts of the US are now hidden.
Remember - The beatings will continue until morale improves.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:48 am

Hello,

No, it is and was checked from the beginning. I set all options when I started my first game with the Union and did not change them when playing with the CSA. It is still checked.

User avatar
Gray_Lensman
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 4:04 am
Location: Who is John Galt?

Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:19 am

deleted

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:32 am

Ah, ok. Thank you.
I am glad that I was not too far into the game, yet :)

Does it make sense to wait for the final patch? Is it on the horizon or may it still take a while?

User avatar
Pat "Stonewall" Cleburne
General of the Army
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Kentucky

Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:03 pm

Quirk wrote:Ah, ok. Thank you.
I am glad that I was not too far into the game, yet :)

Does it make sense to wait for the final patch? Is it on the horizon or may it still take a while?


1.16 won't be finalized for some time. I've played many a times with 1.16rc4a and it might as well be finalized.

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:02 pm

Ok, thank you very much.
Going to start a new game with CSA then :)

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:44 pm

Weird, but my save game got corrupted again in early June. The turns prior to that point were fine, now I see only Union movement again :(

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:24 pm

Hi Quirk! :)

Did you uninstall the game, delete residual files, reinstall from original Setup EXE and patch directly to v1.16rc4a. as Gray said you?
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]



[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:29 pm

Hi :)

Yep, did exactly as he told me. To no avail, first few turns are fine and from Early June on same problem occurs.

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:57 pm

How long have you had this problem?

I guess you did not have this odd problem previously, did you?
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]



[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:00 pm

I only started to play 16RC4a some days ago. I played a full campaign with the Union and did not have that problem. Only while siding with the CSA.

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:06 pm

Firstly, I would have thought that it was a corrupted saved games file but if you have done all what Gray recommended you..... mmmmm :confused:
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]



[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:15 pm

Weird, weird. But this makes the game unplayable with the CSA. Turns take much longer and of course I do not want to see what the Union is up to :)

User avatar
Ethan
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1923
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:22 pm
Location: Gádir

Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:21 pm

I understand you. That must be very annoying. :(
[color="Navy"][font="Georgia"]"Mi grandeza no reside en no haber caído nunca, sino en haberme levantado siempre". Napoleón Bonaparte.[/font][/color]



[color="Blue"]Same Land. Different Dreams. - Photobook[/color]



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quirk
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Germany

Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:37 pm

I hope there will be a solution to this problem. Would like to play the CSA.

richfed
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:50 pm
Location: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Contact: Website

Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:48 pm

If I am understanding you properly, Quirk, I experience the same. I only have played as the CSA [except for afew brief flings as the Union to see how they start out] - but as far as I can recall, I have always been able to see Union troop movements during the turn resolutions. I always play with fog of war turned on and it works to just look at the map, but once the turns are playing out you see USA movement up around the Great Lakes --- everywhere - even if all the CSA forces are below the Mason-Dixon line. Been playing this since it was released in '07, and to the best of my recollection, it has always been that way. I am surprised it's not been mentioned before. To me, it's not a real big deal, I just try not to pay attention.

As far as just looking at the static map, I can see further than I expect - almost as if the detect bonus I give the AI applies to me, too. For example, I can have no troops above the Missouri River; above it is totally Union controlled, and I can still see up to Iowa, several regions and a large river away ... then, the map grows dark. Just wondering if there is a detect glitch ...
[color="DarkRed"][SIZE="2"][font="Book Antiqua"]"We've caught them napping!"[/font][/size][/color]

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2678
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:26 am

This is not my experience. I am playing 16RC4a as Confederates and most of the Union is in fog of war.
I wonder what constitutes the difference?

Return to “AACW Technical support / Aide technique”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests