Newman5
Conscript

Newman5 vs Durk - Learning Game AAR

Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:44 am

Hey gang

I'm just learning the game and I'm very grateful that Durk and Longshanks are willing to accommodate me with sharing my experience.

So, I'm playing Durk and Longshanks is the host. Longshanks is helping me with advice. Durk is cool with this. And, my goal is to learn to play the game. Altaris beat me so bad in the first round, I still have nightmares. :)

So, here is the first of several screencasts that highlight my experience, as a newbie to the game and this type of gaming.

http://screencast.com/t/MrEA2nRveEh

charlesonmission

Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:32 am

Newman, glad to see you on here! Can you explain a little bit about the link becuse this is a new way of learning for us!

Charles

Newman5 wrote:Hey gang

I'm just learning the game and I'm very grateful that Durk and Longshanks are willing to accommodate me with sharing my experience.

So, I'm playing Durk and Longshanks is the host. Longshanks is helping me with advice. Durk is cool with this. And, my goal is to learn to play the game. Altaris beat me so bad in the first round, I still have nightmares. :)

So, here is the first of several screencasts that highlight my experience, as a newbie to the game and this type of gaming.

http://screencast.com/t/MrEA2nRveEh

Newman5
Conscript

Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:21 am

Yep. Be glad to Charles.

I love using the screencasting tool called Jing from TechSmith. When I worked as a tech support guy, I used it to respond to questions that would be very difficult to communicate with just text alone.

My plan is to create a short (less than 5 min) post that explains my turn. Perhaps a few points of learning or decision points about strategy. This would be good for me to express my learning - and thus strengthen it. And, it might be good for other new players to see - literally see - the game being played from a beginners perspective.