quikstrike98
Conscript

Game Causes Puter to Reboot

Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:51 pm

I purchased BoA last night from Steam, and was delighted to finally have it. Until I started playing it...I can't get past perhaps the 4th turn of the 1775 scenario without the game not just crashing to desktop...but in fact my computer reboots. Anyone else having this problem?

Pocus

Sat Jul 29, 2006 6:18 am

what exactly happens? You CTD and then a second later the computer reboot? You have a blue screen?

Its the first report of this kind, but you are also one of the first Steam customer. Can you please check if the demo works for you? If yes then Strategy First will have to fix the problem, because I seriously doubt BoA can reboot a computer by itself.

Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

quikstrike98
Conscript

Reboot

Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:50 am

It doesn't even CTD--the game freezes, waits a couple seconds, then the screen goes black, and shortly thereafter the WindowsXP reboot bar (with the scrolling blue line running left to right) shows up on the screen.

I have not tried the demo yet, it may be a couple days before I get to downloading it, but I'll try it.

Pocus

Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:31 am

Ok, knowing if the demo crashes in the same way - or not, will be rather precious.
Also you can forward your dxdiag file to me: support@ageod.com

Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

quikstrike98
Conscript

Problem Resolved

Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:13 am

Well I took a while to respond as there were a few things I wanted to do to see if I could correct the problem--and they did.