Taillebois
General of the Army

"The Rise of Rail-Power in War and Conquest, 1833-1914" - re AACW

Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:05 pm

I just came across and have started reading the above book by the unfortunately named Edwin A Pratt.

It has quite a lot on the Civil War being the first major trial of railways in war. The book is free on Project Gutenberg so you can get it for almost any type of electronic reader.

I posted here just because traffic seems a bit slow so feel free to move it.

Long term players may well know of the book anyway.

khbynum
Major

Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:17 pm

Interesting, thank you, Sir. I'm a long-time amateur student of the war but had never seen this book. I also had to go on-line to find out why Pratt is an unfortunate name. It's not a part of American slang.

John Schilling
Private

Railroad destruction/repair

Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:00 pm

I hadn't seen this one before, and it is an excellent source. Thank you for bringing it up.

Chapter III is of particular relevance to AACW, given the persistent controversy over various raiding tactics. In AACW, it pretty much always takes a full month to repair a damaged railroad - two weeks to deploy a suitable "repair crew", and two more weeks to get the job done. In fact, as Pratt points out, railroad repair was only slightly slower than railroad destruction, with damaged tracks and even burnt bridges being put back in service in no more than a few days. This discrepancy makes raiding a much more damaging tactic in the game than in reality.

How might this be changed for AACW2?