Daniel_Morgan
Corporal

1862 War in the West only scenario supply questions.

Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:06 pm

OK I am brand new to AACW, but so far enjoying it, its a little easier on my old laptop than WIA is. Enough so to make it more playable so I am now trying to figure this game out.

Ok I read the supply stuff, and kind of get how the whole map is a supply distribution system (how well it works depends upon, control, infrastructure, weather), and sources push supply to magnets.

And I also get in order to have oceanic supply you need transports in the "shipping box".

The thing that I am curious about is how to I got about Oceanic supply in the Western Scenario where the shippiong box is unplayable? (There is no shipping box in the Gulf, just a blockade box.)

I got the blockade fleets early and then get the Farragut Fleet and Butlers Invasion force.

And its apparently easy for the south to cut off Fort Pickens supply, (However they get supply which I don't have a clue) Because Fort Pickens is withering away because of no supply.

So Other than making sure Grant gets all the way to mouth of the Mississsippi (or has a stright line supply route to somewhere else close) how is Fort Pickens and eventually Butler going to stay hooked into the supply network?

Vera Cruz doesn't appear to be a magnet either, it has 0/0 supply stocks.

Is there someone to do this I am missing?

Does the blocakade box work for both in this case?

Do I have to "game" this some way because I don't have access to the shipping box?

GraniteStater
AGEod Guard of Honor

Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:44 pm

An excellent question. I wish I could answer it.

It could be 'built-in' - that scenario is ony 25 Turns.

Can someone help this gentleman, please?
[color="#AFEEEE"]"Liberty and Union, now and forever, one and inseparable!"[/color]
-Daniel Webster

[color="#FFA07A"]"C'mon, boys, we got the damn Yankees on the run!"[/color]
-General Joseph Wheeler, US Army, serving at Santiago in 1898

RULES