blackbird
Sergeant

Please help troubleshoot!

Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:54 am

We two newbies are trying to play our first PBEM and can't get past turn two.
The host(Whitman-USA) sent me(CSA) the .TRN file. It opened properly. I executed my turn and sent the host back the .ORD file.

He opened it, watched the results, and executed his turn.
He then sent me back what I presume to be my .TRN file(although for some reason, it is not showing a .TRN file extension name), but it will NOT open, nor is it even recognised or displayed in the in game load/saved game window.
Because I am new to this and definitely NOT a computer expert, I can only guess at what is occurring. So, please correct me where I am mistaken and help me to find an answer.

We have tried this twice and are getting frustrated. Could my PC, running Vista, be renaming the file and thus confusing the AGEOD software? Could the host have saved the turn under a different name and that be the conflict? Clearly in the screenshot provided there is some strange name discrepancy between the saved game files.

In the background of the screenshot, you will see the instructions for PBEM cut and pasted from a thread on how to execute PBEM. Unfortunately, the directions haven't helped in this situation :(
Attachments
renamed.jpg

arsan

Wed Feb 03, 2010 7:55 am

Hi!
i'm not a PBEM expert at all :bonk: but it seems Whitman manually renamed his file which will cause the game to not recognize it as the next turn in the ongoing PBEM.
He should have let the file with the name the game automatically create for it... :confused:
I think you can rename the game folder (to Blackvird vs withman PBEM or what ever) but never modify the backup folders you will find inside or the .trn and .ord files names.
As its juts turn 2, probably it would be better to start anew :)
Cheers!

Heldenkaiser
AGEod Grognard

Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:11 pm