Heldenkaiser
AGEod Grognard

Re: War of the Rebellion as a game name

Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:02 am

As a Federal officer I'd of course love to see AACW2 named "War of the Rebellion", but I am afraid it would never do. Every Southern sympathizer would claim it ought to be called "War of Northern Aggression". :thumbsup:
[color="Gray"]"These Savages may indeed be a formidable Enemy to your raw American Militia, but, upon the King's regular & disciplined Troops, Sir, it is impossible they should make any Impression." -- General Edward Braddock[/color]
Colonial Campaigns Club (supports BoA and WiA)
[color="Gray"]"... and keep moving on." -- General U.S. Grant[/color]
American Civil War Game Club (supports AACW)

Heldenkaiser
AGEod Grognard

Thu Jul 30, 2009 2:06 pm

BTW lest I seem to be making no sense, this was a reply to this thread, meanwhile closed. :innocent:
[color="Gray"]"These Savages may indeed be a formidable Enemy to your raw American Militia, but, upon the King's regular & disciplined Troops, Sir, it is impossible they should make any Impression." -- General Edward Braddock[/color]

MrT
Colonel

Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:36 pm

War of the Bearded Generals is a better name!

I mean 90% of these guys have some kind of handlebar mustache or beard!

slimey.rock
Major

Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:47 pm

"AACW2: The war of Seccession" is neutral to both North and South. Plus, isn't that the name it's known by in France?

Heldenkaiser
AGEod Grognard

Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:19 pm

slimey.rock wrote:"AACW2: The war of Seccession" is neutral to both North and South. Plus, isn't that the name it's known by in France?

And in Germany too. "Sezessionskrieg". Although "Bürgerkrieg" (Civil War) is gaining in popularity as the Anglicization progresses. ;)

arsan

Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:06 pm

And in spain! :)
"War of the rebellion" reminds me too much to... Star Wars :blink: :D

Brochgale
Brigadier General

Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:25 pm

MrT wrote:War of the Bearded Generals is a better name!