Soyaman
Civilian

Newbie here - Where do I start?

Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:13 am

Hey guys.

So I stumbled upon this very nice looking series of games and figured I'd give 'em a bash.
I understand they're a long term commitment and requires a lot of learning but with that established.. Where do I begin?
Which game(s) are considered the best/Do you prefer (why?) and what's the first thing I should bear in mind going into it or start doing?

I've already picked up To End All Wars as I do love World War 1, Might try out Napoleon & Thirty Years War too as I like that era too.

Now with that said. I do have a question.
Are there any games built on the engine which makes good use of diplomacy? I play a lot of wargames and I find it hard to find games that can both handle world wide diplomacy and detailed micro-manageable combat. Ageod looks like they're leaning heavily towards the combat aspect but if I missed anything it's always a pleasant surprise :)

Thank you.

Leibst

Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:02 pm

Welcome Soyaman!

Maybe the last one WoN is the best using Diplomacy, but i haven't experienced it yet.
But as a newbie in Ageod games maybe is easy for you to try with WiA2 or AJE (but they dont have diplomacy system)
Headquarter game designer of Battles For Spain, Ageod English Civil War, España:1936 and Thirty Years War
HQ website

Soyaman
Civilian

Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:16 am

Thank you, and thaks for the suggestions :)

What exactly makes AJE easier compared to the newer iterations? I've got some friends who likes wargames too but they don't have the same perseverance as I do so once I learn one of them I can try to help them learn.
How "sandbox" would you consider Wars of Napoleon? I've always been intrigued by fantasy scenarios of nations switching sides and the like.
I've spent a lot of time playing Paradox' Europa Universallis which is not particularly complex but the sandbox fantasy scenarios that you can have happen just gives it so much re-playability.