jack54
Brigadier General

Stategy Question: (Early HRE) what to do with Budweis... ?

Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:54 pm

Hi again,

This is my first try with the Full Campaign as HRE. It's early I forced the Protestant Armies away from Budweis. Supply there, even in good weather, is low. I've been running supplies wagons back and forth. In any other game I'd build depots but the supply in this game is a bit unique. I hate to loose the flexibility of the supply wagons converting them to depots.

Am I wrong in thinking Budweis is critical to drive further north toward Prague? (In the Shorter Bohemian Revolt Scenario I've been able to win playing conservatively without going very far north.)

So is Budweis that important ? depot or no depot.... ? do I build defensive works? I'm thinking an event or 2 could change everything I.E. I don't have Tilly yet.

Thanks for any advice...It's still early in the campaign but so far I'm really enjoy the game with 1.02RC.
AGE games I own; RUS ,AJE, BOR, H:ToR, AACW, WIA, ROP,NC, CWII, Espana 1936, TYW
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Durk

Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:25 pm

You are correct that a drive toward Prague and Pilsen is essential. You want to eliminate the Bohemian threat prior to the war spreading.

If you take Prague, Budweis is no longer critical as the war moves to the west. So no need to build, if the season is ripe and you can defeat the Bohemians. If you must over-winter, then a depot or two is helpful.

Wagons versus depots is something I do not know a best play answer to. If you are successful running wagons back and forth and sustaining supply, why give up a successful tactic. I do just the opposite, I build depots. If I pace the frequency of building depots, it seems I have sufficient replacement wagons in the pool.

jack54
Brigadier General

Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:54 am

Thanks for the help Durk,