Taillebois
General of the Army

What does the AI do while the player is thinking, or drinking?

Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:04 pm

There are lots of posts on problems, time to process turns, too many events to calculate each turn etc.

I am not a programmer so I can't offer a technical solution.

But, if the AI is idle when it is not actually working imediately after the "next turn" button has been pressed - is it possible to make it do some work between turns - e.g. instead of running through all 2,000 events for 7 or more factions all in one go - could it run through them during the "idle time" and attach a rough probability of them being achieved in the next turn and then ignore all those with less than X% chance of occurring?

If X became a player option then those who have powerful machines or desire the full game experience can have that, whilst some of us with lower standards can play a simpler but quicker game.

veji1
AGEod Guard of Honor

Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:06 pm

Taillebois wrote:There are lots of posts on problems, time to process turns, too many events to calculate each turn etc.

I am not a programmer so I can't offer a technical solution.

But, if the AI is idle when it is not actually working imediately after the "next turn" button has been pressed - is it possible to make it do some work between turns - e.g. instead of running through all 2,000 events for 7 or more factions all in one go - could it run through them during the "idle time" and attach a rough probability of them being achieved in the next turn and then ignore all those with less than X% chance of occurring?

If X became a player option then those who have powerful machines or desire the full game experience can have that, whilst some of us with lower standards can play a simpler but quicker game.