Don77
Corporal

AAR from the Beta

Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:03 am

Lets play Wars of Napoleon's eh?

Enocm and I have been playing AGEOD for a couple of years now. We've played Revolution Under Siege, Civil War II and most recently To End all Wars. Playing using the same game engine means once you have figured out how to play, you can focus on how to win. Which we both want to. A lot.

This was my first great Napoleonic strategy game - we all have a lot to live up to;
[ATTACH]35437[/ATTACH]
Most importantly, the engine allows great person to person competition (ie PBEM). We've played two player as well as roping in his elder son Kon3 for RuS and EAW three players. We really enjoy the combination of strategy and operational art.

We've really been looking forward to Napoleon II - Wars of Napoleon, which we are going to play using the beta test version 0.96 as at 10 November. Enocm is the coalition , and I the French. 'En Guarde'.
Attachments
WoP.JPG

Don77
Corporal

Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:11 am

Settings:

For settings we try for the most historical and challenging, with limited automation and to minimise any ahistorical advantages. We chose the below
• Fog of war - On, obviously - I've never wanted to give any Eno any more information than I possibly can
• Foreign entry - historical;

• Logistic options: Easy supply - not just no, but 'hell no'! Attrition - historical. Automated replacements - we chose manual, ie no AI investment. All To keep a 'real' feel for the challenges of keeping our armies supplied and manned. Eno is a professional logistician, so he hopes that my proven inability to buy chits will help him.