bayern
Conscript
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Moves the AI take long

Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:44 pm

Hello

which moves the AI take with me a very long time, it is normal?
move takes 3-4 minutes!

how long with you the moves of KI in the great campaign?

my notebook:
Win 8.1
Intel Core i7 TM 4700MQ 2,40GHz
Graphics card Geforce Nividia 765GTX
8GB Memory

Unfortunately, my English is very bad, I hope you understand me anyway

Gruss aus Hamburg

hannibal_barca
Corporal
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:15 am

Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:56 pm

I was about to comment on this.

The AI turn times are way too long. Otherwise the game is grand. Can we expect patches to significantly speed up the turn process? Or is this a dead-end given the dated engine?

Reminds me of the turn times for AGEOD victorian era game.

zakblood
Sergeant
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:08 pm

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:19 pm

have you checked in the settings?

bayern
Conscript
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:31 pm

Yes, I have tried different Settings, always 3-4 minutes.

if I would play 500 rounds, then I would have a waiting period of more than 30
Hours. It may be that the moves take even longer because there are more units later ????

I hope it will give a patch so that KI expects faster

zakblood
Sergeant
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:08 pm

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:41 pm

i'm only going by the twitch feed video the other day watched, as turn time was very rapid tbh

hannibal_barca
Corporal
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:15 am

Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:41 pm

GPU: GEFORCE GTX 980
CPU: AMD FX(TM)-8350 EIGHT CORE
MEMORY: 16.00 GB RAM
OS; WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL 64 BIT


Like snail's crawl. The FPS is also very sluggish.

Knowing my luck its because I have an AMD processor.

User avatar
Ace
Posts: 3496
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: Croatia

Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:17 am

Do you have SSD hard drive?

User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:31 pm
Location: Portugal

Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:34 am

Ace wrote:Do you have SSD hard drive?


It should not be a necessity...
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
Ace
Posts: 3496
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: Croatia

Sat Dec 05, 2015 12:03 pm

Only asking because I am buying new comp, so I want to know if it matters?

bob.
General
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:56 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:30 pm

CPU is the bottleneck.
I have an SSD and I don't think it has any influence on the turn times, only when the new game turn is saved but that takes at most a few seconds.

Although, not related to the game, in general I would advise everyone who buys a new PC to get a reasonably large SSD now that the prices have fallen. Makes a huge difference.

User avatar
Prussian Konig
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:47 pm
Location: Maumelle, Arkansas

Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:32 pm

Ace wrote:Only asking because I am buying new comp, so I want to know if it matters?


I have an ssd and my turns run pretty fast. Haven't timed them though, just haven't had a need to complain.
Beta Tester HOI 3, EUII. AACW2 & To End All Wars!

User avatar
Suvorov928
Conscript
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:10 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:34 pm

I don't see how a hard drive would affect the AI turn move. The turns are based on processing speed, not load speed. Now, an SSD HD would help launch the game faster, but not sure it would do anything for turn processing.

All that said, I have no problem with turn speed.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25113
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:35 pm

Unfragmenting is very important though. Now in all honesty, I seldom go below 2 mn in the GC...

Paradoxically also, the starting turns take long because many countries have their armies replete with units and all majors are at war. Conclusion: fight battles ;)
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Delaware
Private
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:44 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:51 pm

It has too much of its grandfather PON's DNA in it. LOL

User avatar
Prussian Konig
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:47 pm
Location: Maumelle, Arkansas

Sat Dec 05, 2015 2:10 pm

Just ran turn 3 as the Russians. 51 seconds. Will test again around turn 25 or so.
Beta Tester HOI 3, EUII. AACW2 & To End All Wars!

Lemelem
Private
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:14 am

Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:43 pm

Ottoman Turn 58, ran 4min 10sc.

Win 10 home
Intel core i7-4710mq 2.50ghz
8gb ram
nvidia geforce gtx 860m
Game in SSD HD

Not playable for me :/

Taillebois
General
Posts: 544
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:09 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:20 pm

In a game where you spend 20 or 30 minutes thinking what to do, waiting 3 or 4 minutes to process turns gives you time to go and pour another glass of port or brandy. These AGEOD games are to be savored, not rushed.

Here's how the master himself, Napoleon played the game: from Chapter 6 of Jomini's "The Art Of War":

"The emperor was his own chief staff officer. Provided with a pair of dividers opened to a distance by the scale of from seventeen to twenty miles (which made from twenty-two to twenty-five miles, taking into account the windings of the roads,) bending over and at sometimes stretched at full length upon his map, where the positions of his corps and the supposed positions of the enemy were marked by pins of different colors, he was able to give orders for extensive movements with a certainty and precision which were astonishing."


Alternatively, try Campaigns on the Danube, another Matrix Napoleonic game which has just received a new patch.

User avatar
Suvorov928
Conscript
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:10 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:40 pm

Is Campaigns on the Danube a good game? I love Napoleonic warfare and have been looking at this, but unsure if it is worth getting.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7532
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:57 pm

Turns take ~ 2.5 minutes

Lenovo Laptop
Win 10 home
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU @ 2.40GHz, 2401 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
NVIDIA GeForce 840
Game on 1TB NTFS hard drive
Avast Antivirus
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:39 pm

Who cares how long the turn takes?

If you have your battle animation set to anything other than masked, it's generating a battle log. It does a huge number of checks and rolls each turn. It's plotting simultaneous movements of large numbers of stacks and fleets. So it takes 5 minutes? Go get some coffee or a drink.

I've found 2 potential issues in the production/replacement system as of right now. We need to be focusing on bugs within the game to help these guys fix and balance out the game.

Performance isn't critical.

bayern
Conscript
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Sat Dec 05, 2015 7:15 pm

it is possible to create a future patch:

AI makes a turn
Human players can scroll on the map and pick up information


so would the waiting time not so boring


I hope my question is to understand :-)

User avatar
H Gilmer3
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:57 am
Location: United States of America

Sat Dec 05, 2015 7:35 pm

Hey everyone. I think my turns take about 2-3 minutes, not worried about that. Empire Totwal War took at least that long as well for a turn.
To End All Wars AAR in the War Room. Join us as we laugh, we cry, we drink beer, and we joke on how badly I play......

http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?36936-To-End-All-Wars-AAR-Western-Entente-against-the-AI-of-Central-Powers!

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5738
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:00 am

It purely processing power. I have an i7-5280 running at 3.8Ghz. Windows and WoN are installed on an SSD. Turns take about a minute to a minute and a half to process.

This in not CW2 with 2 factions, 3 if you include Indians. The AI has to calculate the plans for all the minor factions and then run them all at the same time. That's a hell of a lot of processing.
Image

lycortas2
Captain
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 1:57 am

Sun Dec 06, 2015 3:32 am

If you are purchasing a new computer, purchase an i5 not an i7. An i7 sounds good but virtually no games take advantage of its theoretical boost and the i7 architecture actually creates more buffer wait states than an i5 will.

Return to “Wars of Napoleon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests