User avatar
Stratman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: S-Petersburg, Russia

Change Faction

Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:37 pm

Hi folks!
Is it possible in WON use console commands Switch Faction or even Change Faction (as we do in PON)?

I play Grand Campaign solo for all 7 factions and I want to run the other 11 countries-minors and their ord. -files are in the backup.

After performing "Change Faction" from console, I can give movement orders etc, but when I re-enter this faction, I see that my orders have disappeared. :bonk:

The second question: why after performing "Change Faction" we see "do not host!" message? I can not end the turn in this case?

Thanks!

User avatar
Stratman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: S-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Change Faction

Fri Dec 20, 2019 9:39 pm

Oh... Seems like it works.

Just need to run next turn.

... and plenty of factions ... more than 18 :dada:

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:46 pm

Is it time to discuss the possibility of an expanded multiplayer game WON with the participation of new countries (Sweden, Saxony, Portugal, Sicily)?
This would greatly enhance the importance of diplomacy and complicate the fighting against these countries.
It is a pity that the game does not have at least a minimal economy, trade and construction - with them the game would become a masterpiece ((

User avatar
Stratman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: S-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Change Faction

Sun Dec 22, 2019 11:37 am

andrzej wrote:Is it time to discuss the possibility of an expanded multiplayer game WON with the participation of new countries (Sweden, Saxony, Portugal, Sicily)?
This would greatly enhance the importance of diplomacy and complicate the fighting against these countries.
It is a pity that the game does not have at least a minimal economy, trade and construction - with them the game would become a masterpiece ((


As I understand this game will not be further developed. :pleure:

Using "ChangeFaction" feature allows you to play any minor faction, but player have to run its minor country from the major state in which he is in coalition.
This way minor gets the same "fog of war" situation as his major ally.
If the country is not part of the coalition (for ex. Sweden) in this case player have to switch off "fog of war" feature during making orders or he will be completely "blind" even in its own regions.

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:12 pm

Using "ChangeFaction" feature allows you to play any minor faction, but player have to run its minor country from the major state in which he is in coalition.
This way minor gets the same "fog of war" situation as his major ally.
If the country is not part of the coalition (for ex. Sweden) in this case player have to switch off "fog of war" feature during making orders or he will be completely "blind" even in its own regions.[/quote]


How do you do it? (in easy steps for the initiated like me!). Can you control their recruitment as well?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Stratman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: S-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Change Faction

Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:30 pm

Offworlder wrote:
How do you do it? (in easy steps for the initiated like me!). Can you control their recruitment as well?


1. Run your ally major faction (for example Britain if you need Portugal) to get the same "fog of war" situation;

2. Call up the console by pushing "~"

3. Type in the command "ChangeFaction - space - faction`s tag"<enter>
(ChangeFaction POR - for Portugal).
You can see tips if you type in concole` field "?" <enter>. Faction tags you can find in "GameData/ Factions" folder.

4. Close console by left click

5. Then make your orders for minor faction just like for a major - there are all possibilities!! Except F3, F4 -features and regional decisions.

6. Save and back to the main menu.

7. Next time start again as major (don't push "resume game" from main menu after minor's turn - game will crash in that case)

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:50 pm

Thanks for the heads up!

Now to figure out how to activate some of the units which seem to be listed (like a second French Guard Division and Young Guard formations) but which I have never seen during the game.

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2613
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Change Faction

Mon Dec 23, 2019 5:32 pm

Offworlder wrote:Thanks for the heads up!

Now to figure out how to activate some of the units which seem to be listed (like a second French Guard Division and Young Guard formations) but which I have never seen during the game.


To activate the Middle Guard, it is required the Old one to have less than 10 elements.
To activate the Young Guard, it is required the Middle one to have less than 10 elements.

As it is not making a lot of sense to me, I did modify the requirements a few months ago.
I can provide the modded file if you want to try it,

Regards

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:03 am

Bohémond wrote:
Offworlder wrote:Thanks for the heads up!

Now to figure out how to activate some of the units which seem to be listed (like a second French Guard Division and Young Guard formations) but which I have never seen during the game.


To activate the Middle Guard, it is required the Old one to have less than 10 elements.
To activate the Young Guard, it is required the Middle one to have less than 10 elements.

As it is not making a lot of sense to me, I did modify the requirements a few months ago.
I can provide the modded file if you want to try it,

Regards


Thanks! It would be greatly appreciated.

BTW sorry to bug you but there seem to be a number of other divisions, mostly of minor nations (ex Bavarian, Wurttemburger and other minor country divisions) that seem to be listed in the data bases but not accessible to the player. Is this WAD?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2613
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Change Faction

Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:15 am

I cannot attach a file in this sub forum so I will do my best to explain the modification ;

In NGC/Events, open GC1805_FRA_FMEvents.sct.

Search (CTRL+F) for evt_nam_FRA_MoyenneGardeFM_On, you will find the following event

SelectFaction = FRA

SelectFaction = FRA

StartEvent = evt_nam_FRA_MoyenneGardeFM_On|1|0|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
MinDate = 1809/01/01
FacModifierExists = $FM_MoyenneGarde;NOT
SelectSubUnits = Models $mdl_FRA_GreVG0 $mdl_FRA_InfVG0 $mdl_FRA_ChaVG0 $mdl_FRA_GdMar0 $mdl_FRA_GdLightCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav2 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav3 $mdl_FRA_GdCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDCav2 $mdl_FRA_GdHvyCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDHvyCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDHvyCav2 $mdl_FRA_GdHLightArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdHArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdLightArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdArt1
EvalSubUnitCount = <;10


Actions
SetActorPool = $gmaOptionMil;MaxUse;1;ImageID;Event-img_Opt_MoyenneGarde.png;Money;500;WSU;0;EP;10;Title;opt_title_MoyenneGardeFM;MsgString;opt_desc_MoyenneGardeFM;ToolString;opt_hint_MoyenneGardeFM;SubType;FRA_MoyenneGardeFM
GenTextMsg = opt_notify_NewMilFMOption;1;NULL;NULL;NULL

EndEvent


Remove the red lines.

Then search for evt_nam_FRA_JeuneGardeFM_On, uou will find the following event ;

StartEvent = evt_nam_FRA_JeuneGardeFM_On|1|0|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
MinDate = 1813/01/01
FacModifierExists = $FM_JeuneGarde;NOT
SelectSubUnits = Models $mdl_FRA_InfMG0 $mdl_FRA_GreVG0 $mdl_FRA_InfVG0 $mdl_FRA_ChaVG0 $mdl_FRA_GdMar0 $mdl_FRA_GdLightCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav2 $mdl_FRA_GDLightCav3 $mdl_FRA_GdCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDCav2 $mdl_FRA_GdHvyCav0 $mdl_FRA_GDHvyCav1 $mdl_FRA_GDHvyCav2 $mdl_FRA_GdHLightArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdHArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdLightArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdArt0 $mdl_FRA_GdArt1
EvalSubUnitCount = <;10


Actions
SetActorPool = $gmaOptionMil;MaxUse;1;ImageID;Event-img_Opt_JeuneGarde.png;Money;500;WSU;0;EP;10;Title;opt_title_JeuneGardeFM;MsgString;opt_desc_JeuneGardeFM;ToolString;opt_hint_JeuneGardeFM;SubType;FRA_JeuneGardeFM
GenTextMsg = opt_notify_NewMilFMOption;1;NULL;NULL;NULL
SetActorPool = $gmaOptionMil;MaxUse;0;SubType;FRA_MoyenneGardeFM

EndEvent


Remove the red lines.

Save and close.

For minor nations divisions present in the DB, if oyu list them I can have a look if there is a related event.

Regards

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Tue Dec 24, 2019 6:51 am

Thanks again!

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Tue Dec 24, 2019 7:13 am

these are the divisions I found in the database - there could be others...

453NEDInfantry Division 1805 (one is present at the beginning but no more can be built)
493DBLInfantry Division 1805 (guess it is same as above - just renamed)
577WESDivision d'Infanterie Ligne 1805 (in several games I have seen one created when Westphalia is created but never any others)
601SAXInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
654BAVInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
673WURInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
692DENInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
729SWEInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
774POLInfantry Division 1805 and 775POLInfantry Division 1805 and 775POLInfantry Division 1805 (seen them in several games when Duchy of Warsaw was created but none were ever created afterwards)
802KOIDivision d'Infanterie Ligne 1805 (never seen one)
858NDSInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
887NAPInfantry Division 1805 (not 100% sure but over the years I've never seen one)
957PORInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)
1242FRADivision Infanterie Garde 1805 and 1245FRADivision Infanterie Garde 1805 (only have seen one division of the Imperial Guard - these seem to be the Middle and Young Guard)

Thanks again and sorry for the hassle!

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:23 pm

Image
Here are my small GUI and scenario file changes to play in 30 countries.

ps: see the new version of the mod below
Last edited by andrzej on Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:45 am

Wow! this is interesting...

As for the minors, is it possible to add a sort of 'restocking of horses' as none of the minors (with the exception of Wurtemburg and Denmark) seem to have a stud farm?

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:49 pm

Offworlder wrote:Wow! this is interesting...

As for the minors, is it possible to add a sort of 'restocking of horses' as none of the minors (with the exception of Wurtemburg and Denmark) seem to have a stud farm?

Of course, all this can be added.

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:28 pm

I decided not to trifle and completely redid the screen of New Game and Load Game)). Now it looks a lot nicer than in the first version, and all 60 flags of the fraction fit (with the possibility of increasing to 90) !!!

Image

Download a mod that allows you to play in 60 countries (or any smaller amount.)
(author Andrzej (Northern Neighbor))
https://mega.nz/#!3vBwDCRb!cBNMyja_qOynGKqT7eYryfoJx9w2ooyPJMbNeKW_4-c

(Unzip the archive, put the files in the appropriate folder with the overwrite (If you want to save the original New Game and Load Game screens, you must make a copy of the game or a copy of these files before overwriting, so that you can return to the original versions!)

Add the BigGameWON.scn demo scenario to the scripts folder and it will appear on the New Game script selection screen as "9/9 Napoleons Campaigns Jan 1805 to Dec 1815"

All 60 fractions are unlocked in it and their tags are added to the list for displaying on the country selection screen. Playability for all fractions has not been checked, some fractions do not even have a territory or appear in the game later.

To reduce the number of flags on the screen, you need to remove the unnecessary fraction tags in the scenario file .scn (in lines 7 and 8)

This mod only demonstrates the TECHNICAL ability to play from the first turn of the campaign immediately for 60 fractions in a solo game or in multiplayer!

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2678
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:22 am

This is truly a worthy effort. I do know a score or more of players who would love for you to do the same with PON.

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:15 am

:hat:
Last edited by andrzej on Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:23 am

Durk wrote:This is truly a worthy effort. I do know a score or more of players who would love for you to do the same with PON.

And I already did. :siffle:
http://www.ageod-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=22738

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2678
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Re: Change Faction

Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:08 am

Right, right. Have that and play many games with other factions, did not make the connection. The PON work is great.
I guess it was your visual of putting each faction on the faction selection screen which makes it so easy for anyone to play.
Nice work.

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2613
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Change Faction

Thu Jan 09, 2020 3:38 am

Offworlder wrote:these are the divisions I found in the database - there could be others...

453NEDInfantry Division 1805 (one is present at the beginning but no more can be built). NoForcePool
493DBLInfantry Division 1805 (guess it is same as above - just renamed). Used in Kingdom of Holland Creation by Allies
577WESDivision d'Infanterie Ligne 1805 (in several games I have seen one created when Westphalia is created but never any others)ForcePool of 4 at Westphalia Creation
601SAXInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
654BAVInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
673WURInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
692DENInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
729SWEInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
774POLInfantry Division 1805 and 775POLInfantry Division 1805 and 775POLInfantry Division 1805 (seen them in several games when Duchy of Warsaw was created but none were ever created afterwards)ForcePool of 4 for 774 and 775
802KOIDivision d'Infanterie Ligne 1805 (never seen one)NoForcePool
858NDSInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)ForcePool of 6 if GBR chose to train NDS Army
887NAPInfantry Division 1805 (not 100% sure but over the years I've never seen one) NoForcePool
957PORInfantry Division 1805 (never seen one)ForcePool of 6 if GBR chose to train POR Army
1242FRADivision Infanterie Garde 1805 and 1245FRADivision Infanterie Garde 1805 (only have seen one division of the Imperial Guard - these seem to be the Middle and Young Guard).Should be fixed with the modified event provided a few posts above

Thanks again and sorry for the hassle!

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:37 am

Thanks Bohemond!

Indeed where there is a pool for such divisions, the AI will never produce them as it will not 'save' the necessary resources, conscripts or wsu's for such.

Having said that one can literally spam divisions (especially with Poland) if manually playing minor factions as the unit number is reset every time units are taken by major powers...

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:02 pm

BTW has anyone made the events generating German Minor State generals work? Or for the Muslim Powers as well?

Thanks!

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:07 pm

BTW I tried modifying some files related to the forcepool and stud farms. Although the information seems to be have been saved within the files, no changes were made to the actual game. Is there something that I'm missing?

Having said that, I'm not a modder soooooo I'm not all that surprised of the outcome....

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:25 am

Any idea anyone?

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2613
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Change Faction

Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:22 pm

Can you specify what files you did mod ?
If .inc the engine will not care of it unless a new scenario is generated.

Regards

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2678
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:13 am

The easiest way to mod for the non-specialist is to use the Plugin_1850GC.sct file in the events folder. If you can write your change as an event, the game knows to look into this file and it will try to run.
This is a good way to experiment with modding.
Look at model syntax in other events.
I the average non-informed modding player changes any other file, you may or may not have made a change the game with use or even see.

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:10 pm

Bohémond wrote:Can you specify what files you did mod ?
If .inc the engine will not care of it unless a new scenario is generated.

Regards


I modded the following -

Stud_Structures_1805 (.inc file)

Campaign1805_ForcePools (doesn't seem to be a .inc file)

Units (under game data)


Tried several times to start a new campaign but no joy...

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2613
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:17 pm

For units, you need to delete the .cached file. Changes will take place during next start.

For change in .inc file, the scenario must be rebuilt not only launched. You will find very useful information in the link below.

https://www.leqg.org/doc/age/www.ageod.net/agewiki/Modding_Campaigns_and_Scenarios.html#Compiling_the_data:_Using_the_game_Editor

Regards

Offworlder
Brigadier General
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Re: Change Faction

Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:05 pm

Thanks again!

However, regarding the .inc files, I think that this is beyond me...

Return to “Wars of Napoleon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests