caranorn

mod leader model and save game

Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:40 am

Hello,

I recently started playing CW2, yep, one would think an alpha would have played the game before, but I never got beyond researching.

Anyhow, I was wondering why some leaders were not getting the option to be promoted despite significant gain in seniority. Ben McCulloch, after a fall and winter 1861 campaigning in the Indian Territory and Missouri had gained 11 seniority and is unpromotable while his subordinate Price is. I'm playing with slightly randomisée stats, at this point it would make no sense to promote a 3-0-3 Price over a 4-3-2 McCulloch.

So I went looking into the game files and noticed that in CW2 leaders have a tag (not on the computer right now so can't add the code here) in their model file limiting their rank, McCulloch's being 1. So I changed that setting, deleted the models cache file and launched the game with my unmodified save thinking I'd be able to promote now. But apparently not.

In the save game file I found nothing denoting rank, so I'm pretty sure I'm missing something. The changes to seniority and leader stats are easily found.

So, where am I going wrong? Do I have to modify other files? Do I have to modify one or more of the save game files to make this work in an existing game (I'd hate to start over right now as things from Cairo to New Mexico are really going nicely).

At some point I may be going through all leader models as I'm sure it's not just McCulloch with this problem. I understand the addition of a non promotable tag to simulate raiders and others who'd be far from ever achieving corps command. But in other ways this looks like a throwback to BoA where only leaders with a 2* file could be promoted. So if only low ranking officers would use that tag okay, but one of the earliest promoted generals of the CS seems like a mistake.