plasticpanzers
Corporal
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:00 am

Is it me or in 1.05 is the CSA smaller/more passive?

Tue Apr 21, 2015 12:59 am

After loading the 1.05 patch I could not help but notice (as the Union) that the CSA armies appear much smaller than
previous (not 2000 plus points everywhere) but only in the East and much less aggressive. Is it me or is there such
a major change in how they are running under Athena?

plasticpanzers
Corporal
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:00 am

Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:30 am

Playing at "normal" and my early Union army under McDowell sieged and captured the entire CSA "Army of the Potomac" at Manassas. Its Dec 1861
and I have taken about 8000 casualties, inflicted about the same and taken 38,000 prisoners. Virtually no CSA attacks at all.

User avatar
willgamer
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:41 am
Location: Mount Juliet, TN

Fri May 01, 2015 5:26 am

Same experience. OTOH, Athena was very active in the West around the Nashville area; lots and lots of troops and ships.

I wonder if another thread's question about the best settings to use is an issue here?

Veterans, how about a heads up on your settings?

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25433
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Fri May 01, 2015 9:17 am

There might be an issue on that, as also seen on EAW. Sadly, we did not see that until too late. We will provide a quick fix as soon as possible.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Linstock
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:30 am

Sat May 02, 2015 4:20 am

I've noticed the same thing, just for the record. Very, very quiet CSA Athena. Doing almost nothing, even with settings I've used for many games before when she ends up invading PA and Ohio!

Scottus
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 9:44 pm

Mon May 04, 2015 3:30 am

Is there an issue when playing as the CSA?


Pocus wrote:There might be an issue on that, as also seen on EAW. Sadly, we did not see that until too late. We will provide a quick fix as soon as possible.

User avatar
FightingBuckeye
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:27 am
Location: Englewood, CO

Mon May 04, 2015 5:06 am

In my one brief game as the CSA with 1.05, it was indeed passive.

There are two threads there that should provide you with an update that's supposed to have fixed the passive AI

http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?39414-Quick-fix-CW2-fixed-executable-April-24

http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?39468-Public-Beta-Patch-1-06-RC2-(upd-May-1st)

I've DL'd the first one and have been using it for about a week now. I can't speak for how the AI is now as I've been busy with two PBEM games, including an AAR that eats way more time than I'd have expected. As much as I might sometimes wish my opponents were a little more passive, they don't suffer the AI's malaise. Hope this helps.

plasticpanzers
Corporal
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:00 am

Mon May 04, 2015 7:35 am

I have not tried the 1.06 patch yet but the quickfix for 1.05 still gives the Union the ability to besiege and capture the entire
CSA's "Army of the Potomac in Manansass by just being defensive and sitting on them for a few turns. I will try 1.06 and see
if that sticks a burr under the enemies saddles...

User avatar
John S. Mosby
Lieutenant
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 2:53 pm
Location: Virginia, CSA

Wed May 13, 2015 11:46 pm

Pocus wrote:There might be an issue on that, as also seen on EAW. Sadly, we did not see that until too late. We will provide a quick fix as soon as possible.


I am a little confused. The quick fix dated April 24 was before Pocus notes a quick fix will be provided soon. :blink:

Looking forward to the quick fix but it may already be out? Thank you.

Return to “Civil War II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests