bob.
General
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:56 pm

How to make a faction playable?

Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:50 am

Can anyone tell me how to do it? I don't want to make any other changes, simply being able to play a faction that is usually only playable by the AI!

If it is possible by console, that's fine with me too! But the problem is, I can't even manage to open the console in the first place :bonk: (German keyboard problem maybe?)

pantsukki
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:38 pm

Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:13 pm

You could try contacting Laruku, as he made a mod enabling the Didians as a player faction.

User avatar
Leibst
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:06 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:29 pm

i can tell you bob that it is not simple. You have to change many things starting with the scenary excel file.
Read the scenary excel and try to understand what it does. That is the first step i think.
Image
Headquarter game designer of España:1936 and Thirty Years War
http://headquarter.es/wp/

bob.
General
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:56 pm

Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:48 pm

Oh, that is a bit disappointing :(
I thought it was maybe like in PON, where I found this thread: http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?22738-PON-PAN-Playing-Any-Nation

Can you tell me where I can find the excel files for AJE/BOR?

User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:31 pm
Location: Portugal

Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:08 am

bob. wrote:Can you tell me where I can find the excel files for AJE/BOR?


They are not yet available to the general public, sorry

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2370
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:47 am

There are several ways to make a faction playable ;

From Excel files ;
From .scn files (AJE/scens)
From .ini files (AJE/scripts)
Using the console.

Let me know wich faction/scenario you want to make playable and I will do a kind a Template step by step that could be reuse for others factions/scenarios.

2 points ;

The main difference between non playable and playable factions is hundreds of hours of work. So there is a risk that factions that are designed not to be playable would be quite boring to play.
These ''mods'' will never been official.


Regards
Marco, perché vai così forte in salita?» «Per abbreviare la mia agonia.

bob.
General
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:56 pm

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:56 pm

Yes Bohemond, I realise. I would not expect that, just want to take a look at their troops and leaders etc and maybe try to play them myself to see how good they really are!

So could you show me how to make the Hispanian tribes playable in the Marius vs Sulla scenario? Thanks a lot in advance :coeurs:

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:22 pm

Removing the SetFacUnselect command in the excel file allows me to at least look at other factions as long as there are not more than three other factions in play (more than this and I think there will be an error).

Cheers,
Chris

User avatar
Bohémond
Posts: 2370
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 8:47 pm

Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:47 am

Step by step ;

1 ; Open ScriptMS87.ini (AJE/Scripts) with Notepad.

2 ; Ctrl+F for CreateFaction = $LUS
3 : lines below you will find SetFacUnselect = 1
4 ; Delete SetFacUnselect = 1
5 ; Save your file as Script.ini
6 ; Launch the Editor

Run the game. As soon as you see the message about loading textures (10%...), strike on the F9 key.
You will noticed on the top right-hand side of the loading screen the mention “Editor Mode”.
Wait until you see the game map and your scenario units magically appears in front of you…
If they don’t, you’ll either get an error message or nothing (more exactly you get the load menu)…in which case you did something wrong in the previous steps!
7 ; – Check and Save

Once the scenario appears on the screen, you can have a look around it as you wish.
Then click on the save button.
Your scenario is now saved.


The new scn file should overwrite the existing MS87 one (1-MariusSulla87.scn in AJE/scens). You can do a backup of it before going through the step by step process for safety purpose.


Regards
Marco, perché vai così forte in salita?» «Per abbreviare la mia agonia.

Return to “AJE Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests