shindigero
Conscript

Hit Replacement & Military Control in Colonies

Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:25 pm

Hi, I'm very new to Pride of Nations, although I have played a small amount of CWII, so I was wondering if you guys could help me understand a few things that I've been unable to find in the manual.

The first thing is the hit replacement. I'm pretty sure I understand how it works but I'm one year into my Great Britain campaign and I've found that for several unit types I have almost 1000 hits that need replacing and I'm only able to buy a few replacement chits per turn due to a shortage of recruits. I understand that one chit can replace 10 hits but the number of hits seems to be out of control so that I can't replace them quicker than they're racking up. I have historical attrition on because I wanted to have to realistically deal with the aspect of disease etc in the 19th century so I don't know whether that's the problem. But I have no units out of supply and I only get a message saying men have been lost due to bad weather etc. once every few turns so I wouldn't have thought that would cause such a huge problem. The problem also doesn't seem constrained to the colonies as I have entire fortress artillery batteries in Britian that have almost no men left which seems excessive for only one year. I'm also at war with Burma but there's been no fighting for months and the number of hits that need replacing continues to grow.