User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:46 pm

lodilefty wrote:Whoops! :blink:
Hobbes, I thought we fixed the Model names thingie, but I see the date on the scn file is from the 19th, not the 22nd..... :(

..and I can move these last few posts to Mods, if that's OK ;)


Yes OK! :)

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7369
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:52 pm

Hobbes wrote:arsan, I was just going to suggest that you give it a quick go to make sure you can get it to work and then get back to the translation :)
Thanks for giving it a try and finding this problem. It's very weird as all the texts are in place. The even stranger thing is that this problem seemed to be sorted out by a new file that Lodi made. I loaded it and put it into the game and all was fine - I then made a new version myself and all was still fine.
Now I try my version again having changed nothing and I can now see this problem again! :blink:

I will have another look tomorrow and try and find the reason.
If anyone has any ideas please post! I'm sure we will sort out the problem this weekend.



You must recompile the 1763 Campaign.scn using in-game editor using the neww strings file.
I don't know why either, but I do know that the scn included above is dated prior to the 'fix'...

...like I've never mixed up a file version, eh? :wacko:
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7369
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:54 pm

Hobbes wrote:Yes OK! :)


rattz, I don't have moderator rights in the War room :o

I suggest you start a new thread in WIA Mods wien you correct the strings bug... ;)
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:54 pm

Thanks Lodi, I have recompiled the scn file. Hopefully this version will work!
If anyone can try - please let me know - my eyes are closing.

If it does I will post on a new thread tomorrow - but hopefully this thread can be tidied up.

Cheers, Chris
Attachments
Pontiac.rar
(77.26 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:02 pm

Give me 5 minutes... :)

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:07 pm

Model names shows OK now! :thumbsup:

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:10 pm

Phew! Thanks arsan! :coeurs:

Chris

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:22 pm

Hi!
Just spotted a little glitch.
On turn 2 i got this message on the message log: "event_name_smallpox"
as one of my allied tribes got their cohesion reduced.
It seem the flavor message is missing. :bonk:
Cheers

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:33 pm

arsan wrote:Hi!
Just spotted a little glitch.
On turn 2 i got this message on the message log: "event_name_smallpox"
as one of my allied tribes got their cohesion reduced.
It seem the flavor message is missing. :bonk:
Cheers


I can see now how difficult it must be to put out a whole new game! I have had no problems like these for months! :)

Off to bed now - for sweet dreams or nightmares. Thanks for looking at the scenario arsan. I'm sure I can fix this tomorrow!

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:19 am

Hi arsan, I have had a quick look and am a little baffled so far. There is no event called "event_name_smallpox" as far as I can see!
It should be evt_nam_SmallpoxPW. I'll have a closer look later on.

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:20 am

Hobbes wrote:Hi arsan, I have had a quick look and am a little baffled so far. There is no event called "event_name_smallpox" as far as I can see!
It should be evt_nam_SmallpoxPW. I'll have a closer look later on.

Cheers, Chris


:bonk:
Yes, sorry, it was "evt_nam_SmallpoxPW".
My memory is pretty bad ;)
It seems is an "epidemic" type event for the Indians isn't it?? :)
It worked alright (reduced cohesion for an UK allied indian stack) but lacked the associated text for the message log.
Cheers!

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:49 am

Thanks arsan this is fixed - see post on main thread.

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:52 am

Hi!

A small issue reported by Ludoperez on the spanish subfoum (he's enjoying the scenario :thumbsup :)
He said that when Indians capture British supply carts or batteaux the captured units don't change color.
They work Ok as captured (can be used by the indians), but still look "British red" instead o changing background color like they used to do on the other scenarios.
Oh, and he comments that the effect of "offer rewards for scapls and prisoners" EP option is not clearly explained on the tooltip. What does it do?? activate some new Indian unit?

Saludos! :)

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6028
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:11 am

What does it do?? activate some new Indian unit?


I'm guessing it does. I just took the option scalps etc and was told afterwards about indian reprisals/raids or something like that. Don't think I should have taken that option :blink:

Having fun with this Chris :thumbsup:

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:46 pm

Glad people are having fun with it! :) I'll take a look into the wagon colour.
If anyone knows if there is a parameter that controls this please let me know.

Issuing the scalp bounty will placate the insurrectionists outside Philadelphia and prevent a riot. It may lead to more aggression on boths sides and some Indian reprisal though - but it's mainly an option for historical flavour. Some options have little impact on the game, smallpox blankets for example will not wipe out the Indians :) but may give a very slight increase to the incidence of the regular smallpox event. Be aware that very large stacks also have an increased risk of smallpox.

Cheers, Chris

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:46 pm

arsan, here are the Pontiac scenario notes in a txt file as you requested.

Cheers, Chris
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


User avatar
Carnium
Posts: 2114
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Slovenia

Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:05 pm

Great job Hobbes :thumbsup:
Enjoying your great scenario right now and I am having great fun playing the natives.
Two minor things I have noticed tho:
- natives are impossible to spot on the mini map as they are represented with a greenish colours
- when the natives capture a fort you get a messages that "Great Britain destroys fort (insert name here)"

With the new patch the AI is really better, but it is still a bit too active during the winter.

User avatar
arsan
Posts: 6210
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:51 pm

Carnium wrote:- when the natives capture a fort you get a messages that "Great Britain destroys fort (insert name here)"

I'm pretty sure this is the "Scorched earth" rule message.
It means the garrison destroyed his own fort before being overpowered to keep it out of enemy's hands (you can imagine a couple of heroic redcoats with powder kegs and a torch ;) :D ).
This happens also from time to time on the other WIA scenarios. :)

Thanks for the txt Hobbes! Hope you include it on the next version of the mod! :coeurs:

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sun Oct 25, 2009 6:54 pm

Thanks Carnium. I'd be interested in feedback about playing as Indian against the AI as this has hardly been tested at all. It's really a scenario for either PBEM or the human playing as British against the AI. I may well update it in the future though to try and make a credible British AI opponent - but it will be a very hard task. I'm hoping the scenario will give players a fairly tough game against an Indian AI and a balanced game PBEM. The main trouble with a British AI is getting Athena to build depots in the places she needs to and maintain her forces in winter. I also noted in a previous post that the AI still seems too active during winter. At least with the AI playing the Indian side this is not a problem as the units are locked in villages for a few months from November.

The problems you mention I think would need to be addressed by AGEOD.
The destroy fort message has been mentioned in the past but no action was taken about it. We were considering a change of message. It's a problem with the scorched earth rule - the message could certainly be a little more general so it doesn't seem like the defeated force are always destroying their own structures.

Cheers, Chris
P.S. crossed posts arsan - I've made a note to include the text file in the next release. I've also found a couple of small problems so I will update the mod next week.

User avatar
Carnium
Posts: 2114
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Slovenia

Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:52 pm

Hobbes wrote:Thanks Carnium. I'd be interested in feedback about playing as Indian against the AI as this has hardly been tested at all.


The scenario is really fun when you play as the natives, but as you have already noticed the British AI has huge problems supplying its units when they advance toward the "rebels".
The main problem seems to be the destruction of Fort Sandusky and Fort Presque Isle which prevent the British to have a supply base in case of the recapture. Maybe something could be done about that ?
Like removing the fort capability and supplies when they are captured by the natives and restoring them when they are re-captured ? Or maybe an event when both forts would be re-build upon British capture thus making them the much needed supply bases for them.
Thais would help the British AI a LOT.

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Fri Oct 30, 2009 8:07 pm

Thanks for the notes Carnium. I must say I'm surprised by the number of people who seem to be trying to play as Indian against a British AI.
It must be a draw to people to play as Pontiac! :indien:

I've really spent very little effort in testing the scenario as human against a British AI as it was clear that this would be an almost impossible task. As the British you really are playing against both the Indians and the elements and it would be a huge amount to ask of the AI. I may update the scenario in future though, to attempt a playable scenario this way, but it would involve changes such as events that create depots for the AI in certain places, as Pocus has recently been alluding to, or changes such as you suggest (for British AI only). It is possible to do this without having much in the way of cheating but it is not ideal.

Any other ideas you have - please post as they will be a big help. :thumbsup:
Thanks, Chris

User avatar
Carnium
Posts: 2114
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Slovenia

Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Well the natives are (for me) the third faction in WiA and thus really interesting to play :thumbsup:

I have noticed that in most (all?) AGEOD games when a fort with a port is destroyed the port stays intact but the AI still "sees" it as an objective. Therefore in your scenario the British AI keeps sending its units and boats to ports of ex-Fort Sandusky and ex-Fort Presque Isle. So the armies get there and retreat again as there is basically noting there (no shelter and no supplies).
It would be interesting to see what would happen if there were no ports or if the AGEOD programmers remove the "lone" ports as the objective of the AI units.
Can you remove the port when the fort is destroyed or do they stay there no matter what ?

User avatar
Hobbes
Posts: 4359
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:18 am
Location: UK

Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:43 pm

You can remove a port but it shouldn't be necessary as I don't know of any mechanism in the game that would lead the AI to target a region with a port. You can add an objective or use a routine to increase the AI interest in a region but there is nothing else going on to tempt the AI that I am aware of, unless there is a bug.

If a scenario designer adds a command to increase the AI interest in a region he should remember to remove the increased interest if a structure is removed or captured. There may in fact be a few small problems in the Pontiac scenario with regards to this - but not in the areas you mention - but thanks for bringing this up! :thumbsup:

Cheers, Chris
P.S. if you fancy a PBEM PM me with your email address - I would be happy to take the British side ;)

Return to “BoA2: Wars in America AARs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests