User avatar
Citizen X
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:32 am

Do either of these two work?

SelectFaction = ITA
SelectFaction = $ITA

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7576
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Re: SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:58 pm

The second will work only if the factions are defined in an Alias file, which don't usually exist in the "official" games.

The first is the correct way, as the Engine properly interprets it.

https://www.leqg.org/doc/age/www.ageod. ... ction.html

User avatar
Citizen X
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Re: SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:44 pm

Gracias otra vez, as the Russians are saying.

I always done it the first way and this might shed light on something that I recently stumbled over. Or maybe not. :wacko:
I haven't found an alias file for factions in my PON installation. But is there any and I just didn't find it?

User avatar
Nikel
Posts: 2574
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:38 pm

Re: SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:43 pm

There are factions files (.fac) in every Ageod game in the folder

"\GameData\Factions"

User avatar
Citizen X
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Re: SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:59 pm

True, Nikel. While they contain UID and FactionTag, they have no Alias.
Maybe I am missing something.

I might explain. I was craving through 1880 eventfiles in PON. You have a lot lines like in 1880WinC Events Fixes.sct

Code: Select all

SelectFaction = $TUR
  ChangeUnitPool = $uni_TUR_Gd_1870_Corps;-4


where I would write it like

Code: Select all

SelectFaction = TUR
  ChangeUnitPool = $uni_TUR_Gd_1870_Corps;-4


Now I wonder if they can work, if there is no file for Faction Aliases.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7576
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Re: SelectFaction

Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:19 pm

Hmmm. I have a vague recollection that the engine allows either, as we had issues early on with a volunteer-who-shall-remain-nameless :siffle: kept putting the $ sign in..... :blink:

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25409
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Re: SelectFaction

Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:25 pm

From memory too, you don't need to put a $ when citing a faction trigram (is that the correct word for an abbreviation of 3 letters? :blink:

There is no need for faction aliases and if you see one, it is an automated left over but is not needed. The game will check what TUR stands for directly...

Return to “Modding AGE engine games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests