User avatar
Rafiki
Posts: 5811
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Map bugs

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:48 am

So far, I've seen a few map bugs such as the control flag being outside the province in question. I'm guessing this is the sort of thing you have in mind when you ask to "Help to improve AACW!", but what is the best way of reporting it. Posting a screenshot and description here as one discovers them?

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13705
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:09 pm

yes, make it as clear and as synthetic as possible...and gives us your recomendation...

User avatar
Rafiki
Posts: 5811
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

McNairy flag in the river

Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:58 pm

OK, here goes :)

McNairy, TN, has its flag in the middle of the river, partly hiding it under the city icon for Savannah:

Image

Also, the names of the provinces can be a bit hard to read (and hard to find before I realized they were attached to the area flag), e.g. for Hardeman (in the west on the above screenshot) and Perry (in the north-east). Perhaps having a light background for the area name might help, though I don't know if that might be a bit too "cluttering".

BTW, do you need screenshots when flags can benefit from tweaking, or is a list of provinces sufficient?

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25446
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:16 pm

the position of regional flag is for now calculated by taking a position deduced from the barycentre of the region (barycenter for americans :) ) this is why sometime it is not well placed. This will need to some work on the map utility we have, but you don't have to tell us the regions number, because if we create a new system, we will place them precisely.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Rafiki
Posts: 5811
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:52 pm

Ah, okay. Looking forward to seeing the results :)

von Beanie
Corporal
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:01 am

Map bug in Missouri???

Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:20 am

On my map there seems to be a bug in the Missouri bootheel area. I can't get my units to move directly from Cape Girardeau to the town south of there on the same side of the river without having to go through Buffington, MO first. This is weird because the railroad runs directly between the two areas.

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13705
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:56 am

Could you late us know which scenario, which side and which units. The move works well in ly version here...

von Beanie
Corporal
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:01 am

Bug? near Cape Girardeau

Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:06 am

I'm playing the Union side in the 1861 grand campaign scenario. I tried moving several units down the river bank and finally gave up for a campaign down the eastern side of the Mississippi River.

User avatar
Le Ricain
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Hurlbut TN bug

Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:44 am

Playing the April 1861 start GC as Union. I cannot build a depot in Hurlbut TN. Hovering the mouse over the greyed--out depot construction button gives the following message,'A city cannot be razed if it is level 1 or higher'.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

'Nous voilà, Lafayette'

Colonel C.E. Stanton, aide to A.E.F. commander John 'Black Jack' Pershing, upon the landing of the first US troops in France 1917

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25446
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:05 pm

very weird, I took a cav, and they walked as they wanted?

Image
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Le Ricain
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:59 pm

Le Ricain wrote:Playing the April 1861 start GC as Union. I cannot build a depot in Hurlbut TN. Hovering the mouse over the greyed--out depot construction button gives the following message,'A city cannot be razed if it is level 1 or higher'.


Sorry, that should be the city of Humboldt in Gibson, TN. Confusing my generals with my cities.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]



'Nous voilà, Lafayette'



Colonel C.E. Stanton, aide to A.E.F. commander John 'Black Jack' Pershing, upon the landing of the first US troops in France 1917

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25446
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:42 pm

are the wagons at 50% or more capacity each?

Image
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Wolfpack
Conscript
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:49 am
Location: Raleigh, NC

Wed Apr 25, 2007 1:41 am

Simple question here: how do I take screenshots in AACW?
"[color="Navy"]First at Bethel[/color], [color="Red"]Farthest at Gettysburg[/color], and [color="Gray"]Last at Appomattox[/color]"
:siffle: 'n Dixie!

[font="Georgia"][color="Red"]"That government is best which governs least."
Henry David Thoreau[/color][/font]

jimwinsor
General of the Army
Posts: 631
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 7:07 am
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:36 am

Wolfpack wrote:Simple question here: how do I take screenshots in AACW?


I use Faststone, a freeware program: http://www.faststone.org

User avatar
Rafiki
Posts: 5811
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:21 am

If you don't want to use any special software for it, pressing the "Print Screen" (PrtSC) button will copy the contents of the screen to the computer's clipboard. You can then paste the picture into your graphic program of choice, be it Paint, Photoshop, Gimp or something else.

User avatar
Le Ricain
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:29 pm

Pocus wrote:are the wagons at 50% or more capacity each?

Image


Yes the wagons are 100% capacity

Image
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]



'Nous voilà, Lafayette'



Colonel C.E. Stanton, aide to A.E.F. commander John 'Black Jack' Pershing, upon the landing of the first US troops in France 1917

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25446
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:05 am

Can you send me the game please?
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Le Ricain
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:25 pm

Pocus wrote:Can you send me the game please?


Done
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]



'Nous voilà, Lafayette'



Colonel C.E. Stanton, aide to A.E.F. commander John 'Black Jack' Pershing, upon the landing of the first US troops in France 1917

von Beanie
Corporal
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:01 am

Map bug in Delaware?

Sat May 05, 2007 3:42 am

I can't get the railroad to work between Delaware and Salisbury. In fact, I have to march my militia to Salisbury overland before they can ride the trains.

I'm playing 1.02a, full map 1861 scenario.

A second problem I've encountered is that I can't recombine units using the tabs when they are in forts. If I march everyone outside, then I can recombine them, but it won't work if they are in the fort.

Return to “Help to improve AACW!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests